Come help with Siberian Huskies and Salmon Fishing in Lakselv, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 572 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    455

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four (children 7 and 3 years old). We are located in the small town Lakselv, which is in the middle of the Finnmark region in the northern most part of Norway. We have 3 Siberian Huskies and run a buisness of Salmon Fishing in the Lakselva river.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would learn about the culture and way of life in northern Norway. You would learn how we make the most of all our different seasons. Nature and being outdoors as the most important thing in our daily life. You would learn about working with the huskies and building up a new sled dog racing team from the puppy stage. You would also learn about how to manage being outdoors in our very different weather conditions (down to -30 and winds in January and up to +25 in July).

  • Help

    Help

    - Read all information


    You need to have a driver's license due to the distances here.

    We need help around the house and lodges. Painting, Gardening, building and helping out With Our huskies.

    You would need to help around some With normal house care. This could be vacum cleaning, clean Kitchen, help to keep tidy inside the house etc. We also do this, but we need help for the daily taks.

    You would also need to help out training the dogs With skies, bikes, carts og sleds regarding the season.

    It may be possible working With tourists at times. When we are working for a buisness purpose we do offer a wage of 12Euro / pr hour to our voulenteers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cabin for you to live in which is about 20m2. This has two rooms: one bedroom with a bunk bed, and one room combined living room and small kitchen. There is an outdoor toilet just outside this cabin. You will also have free access to use a normal bathroom / toilet in either our main house or in one of the salmon lodges (when available). This cabin is located 10m away from the kennel, 30m away from the main house where we live, and 100m away from one of the salmon lodges.

    Food is available in the main house (and you could also have food in the cabin). Dinner we normally have together as far as possible. We mostly eat local and self caught fish (salmon, trout, halibut, cod) and meat (reindeer, lamb and elk). Lunch and breakfast food is normal bread food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time Lakselv has lots things to do if you are interested in culture, nature and exploring. For fishing this is one of the best places you could live, there are three big salmon rivers, over 4000 lakes, and good sea fishing possibilities. There are many good trails and areas for hiking and bicycling in the mountains or forests. In general this is a fantastic place if you are interested in the outdoors. Lakselv is a small town of about 3000 people with a small town center with some shops and restaurants.

    We are located about 2 hr drive from the North Cape, in the middle of the Finnmark Region. There are good bus connections to many exciting places such as Alta (biggest "city" in Finnmark), Karasjok (sami capital), North Cape, etc..

    We expect you to be a social and flexible person. You will be living close to our family of four. You would need to be motivated to learn about huskies, salmon fishing, and nature. You would also need to be motivated when working in some extreme weather conditions. Our dogs are very lively and they need to be handled with confidence and loving care. It is a physically demanding job and it can be cold and windy here, so you should be healthy, have plenty of energy, and a good level of fitness. You must not mind getting dirty either.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Our family
20kg Salmon on one of our private beats
This is where you would stay. There is a smal cabin next to these houses. White is the "main house" and red is one of the "salmon lodges"
Siberian Huskies, Minni with puppies
Showing some of our private beats in Lakselva










Host ref number: 231917593837