Help us on our small ranch and share our French culture in Normandy, France



Favourited 121 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description



    We will have a lot of outdoor work to do, stables cleaning, gardening, building and fencing works ! we need muscles !
    (please read carefully our description)

    I have been myself a volunteer on a ranch in Canada and in the US and I would like to share that kind of experience with people;
    I live in Normandy with my parents and we have a small ranch with animals; we have a lot of outdoor projects and horse projects and we would like to share our culture and help you to learn French or practice our English.

    J'ai moi-même été volontaire dans un ranch au Canada et aux US et j'aimerais partager ce type d’expérience avec d'autres gens;
    Je vis en Normandie avec mes parents, nous avons un mini ranch avec des animaux; nous avons beaucoup de projets à l’extérieur et avec les chevaux et nous aimerions partager notre culture et vous aider à apprendre le français ou pratiquer notre anglais.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn different things about farming technics and how to use different tools.
    You are welcome to speak French with us to learn more the language but we also like to speak English as I study to be an english teacher.
    you will also have the opportunity to learn about horses and animals.

    we expect you to be open minded, positive and fun ! we like to laugh and tell jokes. My mom Lili is a real chef, she'll provide very good meals of French cuisine.
    My mom and dad are both trying to learn English so sometimes it's kind of fun ...

    Vous apprendrez des choses sur la ferme et l'entretien général en extérieur et comment utiliser certains outils.
    Vous êtes les bienvenus pratiquer le français avec nous mais nous aimons aussi parler anglais.

    Western riding experience would be a plus, as well as animal care taking.
    outdoor maintenance experience required as well as responsible and respectful behaviour.

    Une expérience en équitation western et en soins d'animaux est un plus.
    Une experience sur le travail extérieur et la maintenance général est recommandée.
    Nous recommandons un comportement responsable et respectueux.

  • Help


    We are rebuilding an old farm house in Normandy, France !
    We need help for several different things : mainly outdoor activities like gardening, lawn mowing, wood spliting and collecting, painting, collecting apples...
    But you could help us as well with horses and animals, feeding, cleaning stables, picking up manure, watering, grooming, checking on them regularly...

    We are western riders and we love the american cutlure, country music and equestrian events.
    we have a dog, horses, donkeys and a goat and we will have chickens soon.

    Nous avons besoin d'aide pour plusieurs choses différentes : principalement des activités extérieures comme du jardinage, tondre la pelouse, couper du bois et le ranger, faire de la peinture ramasser des pommes...
    Mais vous pourrez aussi nous aider avec les chevaux et les animaux, les nourrir, nettoyer les boxes, ramasser les crottins, mettre de l'eau, les brosser et les surveiller régulièrement...

    Nous sommes cavaliers western et adorons la culture américaine, la musique country et les événements équestres.

    Don't be afraid of getting dirty ;)
    Working on a ranch or a farm requires strength and autonomy. We want to rely on you and to be sure that we can count on you.
    We would like you to know that if you come to our place it is to live a ranch experience that includes being around animals and outdoor tasks. I guess if you are not very flexible and only think about your time off, it is not the right place.

    Travailler dans un ranch ou une ferme nécessite d'être en forme physiquement et autonome. Nous voulons quelqu'un en qui nous pouvons avoir confiance et sur qui nous pouvons compter. Soyez conscient que venir chez nous vous permettra de vivre une expérience de ranch dans laquelle vous devrez être investit. Si vous n'êtes pas flexible et que vous n'accordez d'importance qu'à votre temps libre, alors ce n'est pas le bon endroit pour vous.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Please note !!!
    So far we can only welcome one helper at a time (if we get along well and you want to stay more than three weeks we can arrange that :-) )
    You will have a large tipi tent outside with a real bed and electricity.
    the bathroom and toilets will be shared with us inside the house
    we provide housing and meals in exchange of your help.
    We often like to go to the beach or in town so you will have the opportunity to join us and we'll show you the best of our area.
    Let us know if you have any allergies or food you don't like or don't eat
    dites nous si vous avez des allergies ou des aliments que vous n'aimez pas ou que vous ne mangez pas.

    Vous aurez un grand tipi à l'extérieur avec un vrai lit et l'électricité.
    Vous partagerez la salle de bain et les toilettes avec nous dans la maison.
    Vous serez logé et nourri en échange de votre aide.
    Nous allons souvent à la plage ou en ville donc vous aurez l'occasion de vous joindre à nous et nous vous montrerons le meilleur de notre région.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The easiest way for us is to pick you up at the railway station 10 minutes away from our house and only two hours by train from Paris.
    We live 2km away from a small village and 15km away from the sea.
    If you have your own car you will be able to see a lot of nice things not far from the house and we'll give you some pieces of advice.

    Best things to see in Upper Normandy : Etretat, Fécamp and the high cliffs, Honfleur, Deauville, Rouen, Le Havre...
    A real western ranch, museums and different kinds of visits and sightseeing...
    Paris is only 2 hours by train !

    We would like to exchange more by email before you decide to come to explain a little more what we expect and to tell us more about you.
    Nous voulons échanger par email avant que vous ne décidiez de venir pour vous expliquer un peu plus ce que nous attendons et pour nous parler un peu plus de vous.

    Please, note that sometimes working outside can be hard, requires strengh and that you'll get dirty ...
    working outside is not always easy especially in winter time, but once done it feels good to enjoy a nice tea or hot chocolate by the fire ! in summer we'll enjoy a nice walk by the beach in the evening !

    Le plus facile pour nous est de vous récupérer à la gare qui se trouve à 10 minutes de chez nous et à seulement 2 heures de Paris en train !!!
    Nous habitons à 2km d'un petit village et à 15km de la mer.
    Si vous avez votre propre voiture vous pourrez aller visiter plein de belles choses pas très loin de la maison et nous vous donnerons des conseils.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 231197588257