Help us with gardening chores in Shetland Islands, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 83 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Contact Register
  • Description


    We live on a traditional croft on the west mainland of the Shetland Islands, a stone's throw from the sea (warm enough for swimmig in summer). You'll have your own, south and sea-facing room.
    We are an older couple and run an easy-going household and like our volunteers to have fun. There is great wildlife - sea birds, seals, otters and, if you're lucky, whales and dolphins.
    There's good public transport and hitch-hiking is easy.
    We have a large collection of plants from all over the world and are open to the public. We are members of the charity Scotland's Gardens. The work here is highly varied, but mostly to do with gardening.
    We have a few pure-breed Shetland sheep,and two border collie .
    The weather can be a little unpredictable at times, bring some wellies, a warm jumper and some waterproof clothing. If you can't work with your bare hands, please bring some gloves.
    IMPORTANT - We can't always cater for vegans and vegetarians, so please let us know what you eat and we'll do our best to accomodate us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Shetland Islands have a unique culture and history, quite different from the rest of Shetland. You can access talks and lectures and can travel to many historical/archeological sites in your spare time. You can also learn many gardening techniques, from basic hoing and weeding, to planting, propagating, and the artistic elements of planning a bed or border. You can also learn basic sheep keeping, how to clip a sheep and can learn to spin and knit. We have a large collection of dvds and books and can offer you lively conversation and discussion. We can help you improve your English and teach you some German.

  • Help


    We are looking primarily for help in our public garden, weeding, planting, propagation (we'll teach you). Also, sometimes some general maintenance, repairing fencing, shearing sheep in the summer - oh - and amusing our dogs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, a little basic French

  • Accommodation


    You'll stay in a small village near the sea with a beach 150m away. You'll have your own south-facing room in a traditional 19th century croft house. You'll share meals with your host. You can help with food preparation if you like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Shetland is great for cliff walking and general nature exploration. But you can also soak up nordic culture in the many museums and archeological sites, or simply enjoy a gym visit or swim, or a concert/cinema in the evenings. We are on a major bus route and the bus stops at the bottom of the road.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 226942518964