Join us in our little piece of sub-tropical paradise, Wilsons Creek, NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Paul and Robyn) have just returned to our beautiful mudbrick home and farm, and need help re-establishing gardens, repairing house and loads more. We have recently become empty nesters, so we are looking forward to some fun company. We live in the incredible Wilsons creek valley in the Byron Shire of north coast NSW, on 21 acres, with 500m of creek front, sub-tropical rainforests, abundant wildlife, and established orchard. The valley is surrounded by national parks and home to wonderful diversity of plants and animals, including koalas, platypii, wallabies and lots more. Our home is passive solar, mudbrick and recycled timber.

    All of NSW is currently in lockdown - you may need a place to stay during this difficult time. If you are keen to help us out and our profile looks good to you, please contact us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have spent many years travelling overseas and within Australia and love sharing stories and experiences with fellow travellers. We love to share our rainforest, farm and home with other like-minded people. Paul plays the guitar. We both love yoga and dance, and creating artworks. We also are keen campers, bush walkers and cyclists. And passionate about our natural environment and planet. And I almost forgot to mention - we LOVE table tennis and have a table here to use.

  • Help

    Help

    Having been away for 9 years, there is plenty to do ...... including rainforest regeneration, house maintenance projects, painting, re-establishing the vegie gardens, re-invigorating the orchard, mowing, landscaping (we need your creativity here!), and more.
    Paul is a builder so can share skills with you. Robyn is an experienced organic gardener, but always keen to learn more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are not good with languages other than our own (English), and a little Indonesian, sorry.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a three bedroom home, so have a large spare bedroom for you to use. Its within the main house, but has its own exterior door, and is very private, with the shared bathroom next to it. A queen bed and single mattress is available
    We have internet, but no mobile phone coverage except for texts when outside near the house. We have landline.
    We eat very healthily, mostly vegetarian, but some healthy meats, eggs, and mostly organic. We can cook vegetarian for you, and possibly vegan. We are gluten free. Most of our food comes from the local weekly farmers markets, and hopefully from the garden again soon. We would like to cook and eat together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our property is less than 10 minutes from Mullumbimby and 25 mins from Byron. You will probably need your own transport but hitching is quite good here. Time out can be spent relaxing by or in the creek, enjoying the sunshine on your verandah, walks or cycles in the area, or further afield in the northern rivers area.

    We have enjoyed having WWOOFers here for many years, and have been WWOOFers ourselves in the UK, France and Australia.

    We like to live an eco friendly lifestyle, using recycled materials wherever possible, treading lightly on the planet, being conscious of the impact of our purchases and consumption, and reducing our waste as much as possible. We are also very community minded, being part of the local active landcare group.

    We have a pet dog (non-shedding poodle) and a cow, though we don't milk her.

    We love to go to the beach on weekends, and farmers markets once a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our internet is not super fast, but its fine.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space to park your van, and you can hookup to electricity and use the net if you like.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would need to assess individual pets to ensure that they are suitable to be with our dog, and to stay in a wildlife protective zone.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 226622134524