Help an original vision for a BnB to come true in Rome, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/03/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there, I'm Alberto and I have this nice chance to own a flat in the suburbs of Rome, yet close enough to the center and so instead than leaving it here to just be an expense, I thought to transform it into a unique (as much as financially possible) looking BnB. The flat itself is a 3 rooms flat, with a kitchen, a bathroom and 2 small balconies, it's in the suburbs of Rome as said, but not so distant from the center (there are 3 ways actually to get there from here and each of them requires about 20-30 minutes). While there is still some work to do for it to be ready, it already has some of its special style. Through a Workawayer that came here for a 1.5 months, a lot of things are already done. But there are still a few that needs attention and dedication, these include some painting, some creative imagination, hands and skills, some general adjusting, fixing and maintenance, some diy, of course some cleaning and all many little things like that.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well you would benefit from having a nice flat from which you can enjoy the whole Rome quite easily, you may learn some Italian, you will have all the time you want for experiencing the Italian and Roman culture and ways to do, you will be involved in an interesting project with this Bed & Breakfast, since the philosophy and the style behind it, it's quite different, alternative and unique, if you really are the kind of creative and artsy type. Surely we will also have some chances to meet from time to time and then, beyond the interesting persons you might meet yourself here, we might also have the possibility to interact and share our visions, philosophies, cultures, language, stories and whatnot.

  • Help

    Help

    Generally speaking almost every skill is welcome, however some preferred ones are: being skilled at diy kind jobs (and no, for that I don't only mean putting a screw in the wall), having a good attitude and predisposition towards general maintenance and possibly having some good capacities for plumbing, as electrician, painter, carpenter, creative mind and so on. Anyway, to be even clearer, I'll give you examples of a few things that still have to be done here (these are all very basic and practical things, but if your imagination can abstract beyond them, then it could be really great ;)) : changing a few faucets, renovating a few electrical outlets, creatively painting some things here and there, changing some electrical cables, changing a few chandeliers and being creative in how to assembly some stuff that can fit theoretical right places. And, of course, if you can already speak some Italian that would be good too! And still, something important: the minimum stay that I can really consider is 2 weeks, less than that it would become too stressful for me to change and go back and forth.

    Moreover, it's suggested that when you write me a request, you don't just write general things you think to be good at, but you really try to tell me know what you actually made the experience to be good at, in connection of what is now your understanding of what is needed for this BnB. And, please, if you can make me any example that could kind of show me why you are good at this and that, that would be greatly appreciated. Another thing that I would appreciate, but of course is not a requirement, is that when you write me, you write in such a way that shows your personality a bit, be it in what you write or in how you write it, you know, I’d like to have some intuitive impressions of the person/s who are supposed to stay in my flat for a relatively long time.

    Another thing that is quite a plus for me, is if you are vegan, since I also am and nowadays the smell of cooked meat and fish makes my stomach feel a bit sick, additionally, that way we could really share some food and some cooking. So, if you are, please, include this in your message and you'll definitely get a chance in more :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Flat/room depending on if I'm here, or not. If I'm not here volunteers can use the whole flat, otherwise anyhow and at any time they will have their own room. Moreover, obviously if I'm not here I cannot provide you any food and you will have to provide it by yourself (anyway, in this sense, I will help you with giving you all the directions for all what you might ever need), if I'm here instead, or each buys its own, or, if our tastes are compatible, we share what's there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    With your time off, you can do literally whatever you want, if you keep in mind that you are really supposed to respect the flat you are staying in and the people who live in the same building as yours.. basically if somebody phones me telling me that you are loud and generally making a mess, that would really be, not, nice.

    Local sights: the best thing of Rome is when you don't know anything about it, you go round and round hoping to find that special sightseeing and while doing so, you find some many interesting and fascinating streets and alleys that when by accident you will stumble upon that sightseeing you were so much seeking for, you'll find it boring and go back getting lost.. then you'll really start to be a Roman. However, should you want any suggestion and general directions and instructions, just ask me and I'll tell you all the necessary things that you have to know or that might come handy for you.

    Another thing that I started to notice and of which some persons seems to, somehow, not be so aware of is that being clear and honest on the number of persons you are going to be while you stay at my place is actually an important information for me.. e.g. if you tell me we are 2 persons until the last moment and then when I come to meet you, you are in 3, well, that's not so fair and honest in my regards. So, if you'd like me to be transparent and respectful with you, please, be the same.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week (15 hours/week)


Host ref number: 224359768744