Couple who would love to share our lives with you in exchange for help with a few tasks on our small acreage in Muckleford, Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Tranquil and environmentally friendly 60acre farm with goats, sheep, cows, alpacas, peacocks, horses, cats, dogs and much more! We have lots of animal feeding, renovating, garden prepping a plenty! We’re turning this place into our very own nirvana with your help if you choose! We are a middle aged couple enjoying this fruitful lifestyle. Our hope is to set up a day farm visit and animal assisted therapy for people with disabilities some time in the future. I, Deanna,was an environmental educator and disability support worker and Mark is an exceptional fabricater and boiler maker.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer you the beneficial insight into farming in Australia on small acreage. Mark is a keen local ornithologist and is of 3 generations in this town and has lots of tales to share. I, Deanna, have lived here for 10 years but has travelled and worked in different parts of Australia! We love to share our knowledge of living and farming in Australia. We are very passionate about our land and our animals and are inspired to share our knowledge where we can! We also butcher and prepare our own meat which we will respect if you do not want to take part in that affair, or you’re more than welcome to be taught how. We live our way but we also respect the ways of others ethically and socially, we want a true exchange of culture!

  • Help

    Help

    All help is welcome and we’ll use your skills any way we can! Daily tasks are animal feeding throughout the property, tending to aquaponic and hydroponic gardens, general maintenance and we’re all to share cooking and cleaning duties that we're all involved in. Other jobs will be fencing, renovating our shearing shed, gardening and creating beautiful things wherever we can! We also prepare our own meat and make sausages and many other meat delicacies and make our own furs- you can be a part of this and learn how it’s all done or we will respect your personal wishes not to be a part of this, we will thoroughly accept your beliefs. This is not a daily task!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Currently any guests will be staying in our home with us. One bedroom sleeps 3 and the other 2. Soon we also hope to have our fully self contained bus available to stay in. The bus fits 3!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Spare time can be spent on your own in the nearest town or on the farm! Do nothing or we can take you fishing, canoeing or boating at a local reservoir, swimming at lots of different places nearby (we also have an above ground pool!!). Horse riding is available on our 2 gorgeous steeds! There is a lot of small local towns that were built on gold as we are in the gold triangle of Victoria, so there are lots of quaint towns to visit! We are also not far from Bendigo which is a large in land town if you need a fix of small/big city living! We are situated a 5 minute drive from the local train station which is about 7 kilometres away. We can pick you up from the station as the train or driving is the only way to get here from Melbourne. There’s so much to do in this part of the world! Gold prospecting is just outside the front gate! So is bush hiking and mountain bike riding!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 222711977671