Help us develop our organic farm in Kragerø Skjærgård, Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 162 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/01/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of four living on a small farm on an islands outside Kragerø.
    Took over the farm after Erling's father summer 2019, and continued with sheep as the main project. We have about 100 sheep's, potatoes and are planning to start up with vegetables.

    We need help with taking care of the animals, building shelters and fences for them, clearing fields and pastures that are owergrown and general maintenace at the farm.
    You shold have practical experience and some construction experience. Couples is preferred as we live quite remote and it is easier if you bring your own company. :)

    Today we produce potatoes and lamb which we sell both locally and deliver.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about sheep farming on an island year round, tending cultural landscape, managing and planning crops.
    There have been agriculture on this island for hundreds of years, and it important to maintain it for future generations.
    The surrounding archipelago is perfect for fishing, kayaking or just explore by boat.
    The town of Kragerø has serveral cultural events like concerts, but not so often now during covid.

    The house you will stay in is 30 meters from ours, so after our kids is put to bed, it will be time for chatting, planning farm work and playing scrabble.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We need a helping hand in the daily life. Feeding and moving livestock, mending fences, growing crops and general maintenance.
    You have to be handy and a easy learner.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Norwegian bokmål: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate house with three bedrooms.
    The house is a cozy, old house with a small kitchen, bathroom, bedrooms, tv (with chromecast), and laundry room. It is about 80 meters to the ocean where you will have access to a small motor boat, fishing equipment and also kayaks.You will stay in a separate house with your own kitchen. We will provide basic foods and what you prefer. We can also cook meals together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our farm is situated on an island in the middle of the Kragerø archipelago, one of Norway's most beautiful places.
    Kayaking, fishing and hiking is natural activities. It is 20 minutes with boat to Kragerø, og 30 minutes with ferry.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have 60/30 Mbps internet connection. Wifi with good coverage and several rooms which could be suitable for office.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a lot of space, and electrical outlets if that is necessary.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dogs and cats.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 222512232528