Looking for help with our organic garden in lovely Dunedin, on the amazing Otago coast, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 579 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    67  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    LAST MINUTE
    Hey, we did some tough landscaping so far on the new field and we need help now with laying the cardboard on the ground and the compost on top. Same method as Charles Dowding's no dig.
    And then we can start planting !
    Any help very appreciated as we're racing to be on time for Spring planting :)

    ******************
    Hi ! We are an Irish/French family of 5 living in Dunedin. We have a small garden around the house and we're developing a second, more substantial, organic veggie garden. We're also working on installing a container and building a new greenhouse.
    Our aim, as always, is to grow as much of our own food as we can, focussing on permaculture and winter food. Our philosophy is to try to be as independent as possible and to know what we are eating !

    We live in a suburb of Dunedin and are only 10 minutes from beautiful beaches (e.g. Blackhead and Tunnel) and only 15 minutes from the city centre. There's a bus service to Dunedin centre and plenty of things to do there too. The Otago coastline is on our doorstep ! If you're a surfer, you're going to love it here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Get familiarized with permaculture and foraging wild edibles and off grid life.
    As a bi-lingual family (French and English) you can practice and learn either (or both) of those languages with us. We can teach you gardening skills, introduce you to Dunedin and Palmerston area and offer a Franco-Irish outlook on life in NZ !

  • Help

    Help

    We need help setting up the garden, container and greenhouse.
    In general, you will be asked to help with a range of outdoor jobs like gardening, building, woodworking, cleaning, fencing and general maintenance.
    Due to a back problem, I am unable to carry much weight and I need help with this.
    A good attitude, practical sense, tidiness & a keen sense of responsibility expected.
    Please make sure you mention your skills in your message. Be sure to bring your own gloves if you need any and working clothes that you can dirty. Don't forget your hat and suncream, the sun is hard here in NZ.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    When at our home we offer you a bedroom of your own.
    When we go to our off grid project there will be basic facilities including a double bed in our container. We do stays there once or twice per week all year round and timing is weather dependent. You'll need your own sleeping bag.
    We're building a compost toilet and traditional basic shower.
    We'll provide good, wholesome, mostly vegetarian food (and mostly organic). We will always ask you to give a hand in the kitchen, for all meals, both with cooking and tidying up.
    Gluten/dairy free meals available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have two good mountain bikes to lend and there are suitable tracks and trails around here. We'll try to help get you to where you need to go (for example, the beach is no problem and we do many trips into town). There's a bus service nearby, and we are very close to the main highway (highway 1) if you want to go further afield. We could pick you up or drop you off as needed and subject to our availability. We will certainly do what we can to help you get the best out of the experience.
    Bring your energy and goodwill, we're looking forward to welcoming you.

    WIFI: You're welcome to use our Wifi for emails, Skype, etc, as long as it doesn't block access for others and if you switch it off once you're finished.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











































Host ref number: 219588373276