Experience local life and help me with my permaculture project in the beautiful countryside of Castelvetrano.

Country

Italy

updated  

Favourited 209 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    194

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi to everyone, my name is Vincent, i 'm 30 years old and I live in Castelvetrano, a town in the south west of sicily. I came back from a really inspiring trip around asia and australia were i met a lot of awesome people and i had the chance to work and help out in many nice projects. I came back with so much positive energy and new ideas that i decided to start my own project, a permaculture farm in a piece of land of 1 hectar that i share with my grandfather!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They have the opportunity to practice and learn a lot about natural agricolture and they have the chance to get to know sicily in a different way!

  • Help

    Help

    The project is still in the beginning, i have been able to do a lot in this 3 years but much much more is still to do. At the moment i am already growing local vegetables,strawberries, lots of herbs, aloe plants and many different kinds of fruit trees, but i still plan to grow much more, so volunteers will be helping me out mainly with the gardening. Than i also have some little construction plans, I already built a small house, all out of recicled materials, a compost toilet and put fences around the field, so it could be that sometimes we'll be working on these things to. We work 5 days a week 5 hours a day mainly in the morning to avoid the heat of the midday hours. So if you like working outside, like plants and growing plants or you never tried but want to learn about it i' m shure you' re going to have a great time here!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    i can provide breakfast , e lunch and dinner in the working days and fresh vegetables and seasonally fruits from my farm! And i can also arrange bicicles for who wants.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From castelvetrano you can easily reach Selinunte wich is 15 km far away, a small town at the seaside located between a naturalistic-reserve and the biggest archeological parc in europe, the ruins and temples of an ancient greek colony. There is a bus service if you don't have a car. By bus and or train you can also reach Palermo our capital wich is definetly worth a visit ! Apart of that, Sicily, unlickely mostly known for its problems, is luckely still a land of wonderful beaches, lots of wild nature, sun, super good food, good wine and the traces and proves of different cultures of different ages everywhere!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 219447739965