Learn about sled dogs and dogmushing outside Orsa, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 73 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I am called Frasse my wife Marie. We have 2 boys that are full of pranks ;-) 15 and 12 years, they both understand English. I have 32 adult Siberian husky's and 4 puppies.
    I'm working with the dogs full time during winter. The dogs are my family, They all have insurance and they all are my pets and are very socialized.
    I live outside Orsa in Sweden. The dogs are very friendly, loves to cuddle, and we live in a fantastic area of hiking, fishing all year round, mountains, untouchable places, silence and just so good for our soul to live here. You need to like the nature to fully like it here over a longer time.

    In December 15 if we have snow enough I start drive tourists. Or when we have enough to start safely. At that time i can offer sallary.

    If you can stay for a longer time that's better, because it takes time to learn and to be fluent in this. :) It is also important for the dogs so they can feel good and calm with you.
    Also when you have a pack of dogs, especially this polar dogs, its very needed to know that you need to be physically strong to be able to handle them, and a pack is quite different to take care of than pet dogs . These can be really hard-headed sometimes, so you really do need to be firm consequent and know how to meet a dog. They will try you out ;)
    The breed I have is Siberian Husky. If u are interested, you can start with reading online about my breed

    Skills I do appreciate is especially that u see what to do, both with dogs and in the household (such as cleaning, washing, fix the dish out and in of dish machine, keep our common area in order and so on), fill up with wood in the boiler for hot water, Also u need to be physically strong, this is special important in wintertime when we load heavy sleds, taking 2 dogs at a time to the trailer or into the dog team and the dogs are really STRONG that time of year. If you are good to cook its very appreciated ;)
    Also I appreciate if you are experienced and not come direct from parents home, so u can see what to do, and got the skills to do it . :) Not under 22 at least. Like if you are a little older.
    Its very good if you can take initiative , see what to do, and so on. If you like to walk, its very appreciated if you want to take some dogs for a walk. Because we will have young dogs thats need to be trained unique, before they get older.

    We live really close to each other here, you will become as family. :)
    All meals are togheter with us.
    Good if you also can give me feedback if I need it. :)

    Hope to meet u!
    If you smoke, you actually need to find another place than me sorry to say.

    /Frasse

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can teach you all about the dogs, training them, building a dog-team, reading dog language. You also have a very appreciated area around here with plenty of very unique places to visit and experience (you're allowed to borrow my car when possible if you have license). This is an old area with very beautiful old forest. A lot of interesting living-history around here even if you're not so interested of it in common. We also have a very unique nature around, with very nice fishing spots, wide mountains, river with canoeing, and a big wilderness just around the corner.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    I mostly need help with my dogs. Some other help can occure.

    During summer i need help with feeding cleaning dogyards play with the dogs, walk the puppies, cutting grass, and some other small things.

    During fall i need help with the daily care of my sled dogs. Feeding and cleaning. Then I need help with training them for the winter season.

    Winter time i need help training my dogs and driving tourists with a sled. Only in winter i work with guests and only then i can offer sallary.

    If you have worked with sled dogs before its really god
    You need to have valid drivers license.
    We train our dogs with an ATV if you dont have experience i will teach you.

    Car is avaible for my workawyers.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Swedish and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a small but long rom In my house for you. You are free to feel at home here.
    We eat all meals as a family. Helping after dinnner to clean the table.
    Sometimes we fix the food together. i am interested in food from other countrys. ;-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Its close to a big ski resort where you can mountain biking, hiking, running, during off snow season. In winter you can ski downhill and flatland. snowshoeing, snowmobiling. One of europes biggest predator park 10 min by car from us.
    We have a bus station where you can take you to the train station in Mora. Or to go shopping.
    If you have drivers license you may borrow my car if needed.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 218488853186