Smallholding in Pembrokeshire, Wales

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with two young children living on a smallholding comprising of grazing fields, small woodland and a fruit orchard. We grow our own fruit and vegetables and keep bees. Tom works as a tree surgeon and has built a number of traditional timber frame buildings using timber from local jobs. Linda makes wood fired pottery, grows veg, fruit and herbs for the family and looks after a holiday let caravan, which is in our woodland.

    We are looking for someone with practical skills to help with our projects on our 11 acre smallholding in the Pembrokeshire National Park, Wales.

    Please note we do not grow any produce for sale.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will share our experiences and knowledge when working together. You will also have plenty of time to explore the local area and we will be happy to show you around in our free time. We are right on the Preseli Mountains rich in history and natural beauty. The Pembrokeshire Coast is 10 minutes drive away with a choice of spectacular beaches. There is a very strong local farming community with Welsh language widely spoken.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone reliable and tidy with practical skills. Experience in gardening, growing food, DIY and carpentry would be welcome.

    The tasks we would like some help with can vary from general day-to-day maintenance and cleaning to help with one of our projects.

    This could be building raised beds and laying down stone paths in the vegetable patch, fire wood processing, cladding and painting of garden shed walls, restoring fencing, tree planting, clearing over-grown areas and weeding.

    Please note we do not grow any produce for sale.

    We accept volunteers for shorter term stays but if they like the area, enjoy the work and we all get on they could extend their stay and the arrangement could be tailored to suit everyone's needs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer accommodation in a self contained caravan.

    There is a log burner, fully equipped kitchen, toilet and shower. We have plenty of wood for the heating but volunteers will need to be able to process their own fire wood outside the working hours.

    We will have some meals together and you will also be preparing own meals with funds provided to purchase own food.

    Workawayers will need their own transport to get around.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are no shops in our village. The nearest town is 10 minutes drive away with pubs, cafes, grocery store, post office, pharmacy and doctor's surgery.
    Due to the very rural location and absence of any public transport your own transport is essential.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Internet connection available as a plug in extension from the main house.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 217397569594