1 / 4

Learn about permaculture and caring for animals in Knysna, South Africa



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are a French couple living in South Africa for 23 years. We love nature and have an off-grid eco farm. We want to give back to Mother Earth and be as in tune with her as much as possible. We also harvest medicinal plants, aromatic plants, veggies and fruits and process all that differently, creating our tinctures, spices, preserves, etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our farm offers a space to learn permaculture and how its growing principles intertwine with the different systems of nature such as soil preparation and health, planting techniques, irrigation, and animal care. There is always something to learn and explore like fencing, land management, grazing and beekeeping. Additionally, you can learn about gardening, fruit trees, cooking, and preserving. Discover how to look and care for alpacas, donkeys, cows, geese and chickens.

  • Help


    We are an off-grid, eco-friendly farm using permaculture principles. We have Alpacas, cows, donkeys, horses, geese & chickens. We need help and support to care for the orchard and veggie garden. We want to open trails in the indigenous forest and we are always working on new projects.

    We want serious volunteers, who are ready to work. The type of work depends on the season, what needs to be done and the volunteer skills and interests.

    The type of work a volunteer can expect involves maintenance, weeding, composting, gardening, responsibility for land and animals, planting, irrigation systems, and woodwork.

    A few of our expectations:
    Have a strong sense of responsibility
    Volunteer to take their job seriously
    Treat people with respect and respect the land and animals
    Start at the agreed time and be flexible throughout the day

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Would love to share any of those 3 languages.

  • Accommodation


    We are an off-grid, self-sufficient, eco-friendly farm, we use electricity and water sparingly. We live in harmony with nature. No smoking and drinking alcohol is allowed on the property.

    Cottage to share with 3 bedrooms, a bathroom, a communal kitchen, a dining room, and a veranda. We only have one room for volunteers.

    Fresh food will be provided from the veggie garden as per season and availability and the rest will be bought from the local shop. We go grocery shopping once a week. The budget is to be discussed.

    Volunteers need to make their bed every day and keep their room tidy. The kitchen and the common area need to be cleaned up immediately after use.
    Please don’t eat or drink in the bedroom. Please enjoy your meal in the dining room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are on the garden route, close to the sea and the mountain range -lots of outdoor activities in the area.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a South African internet connection... not always very fast!!

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Here is open parking...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Minimum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 216181536436



Learn about sustainable gardening and help renovate the house my grandparents built in Thabazimbi, South Africa
Join our family and get inspired in the Klein Karoo, Oudtshoorn, South Africa