Enjoy the warmth of a Colombian family and Help us build the first hostel in Yumbo, Colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2018

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family is building the first hostel in town, we want to offer an authentic experience of living in Colombia, we see this as an opportunity to contribute to the traveller's experience, as well as help with the development of the town.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can provide accommodation, breakfast and lunch, the volunteer is free to have dinner outside or cook, we have a washing machine. We would not only provide a place to sleep, but the warmth of a Colombian family, we would make the best to share cultural activities, salsa dancing, Spanish practising and city tours. Yumbo is a quite cheap place to live, ideal for people trying to save money while travelling.

  • Help

    Help

    We're building the first hostel, a non-touristic town located 15km away from Cali. We require volunteers to help us with this project, working 15 hours a week in construction tasks. Basically dry-wall construction and decoration.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Spanish, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with a 2-floors bed. We can accept two volunteers who would share the room. The other spaces would be shared.

    We will cook for everyone, my family eats meat, but we can cook vegetarian food, I prefer vegetarian food myself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers are free to do other activities or works in their free time. Transportation is frequent from the Bus Terminal in Cali and we're close to the Alfonso Bonilla Aragon International Airport. We would constantly suggest activities the volunteer can do with us or alone in the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Accommodation will be provided in this room
We need help with the finishing of our rooftop, basically drywall and decoration, it will have two WC, a shower, a bar and the rest of space to chill
Rooms, kitchen and bathroom are finished
I'm Diego, just a traveller like you :-)
Host ref number: 214469355898