Give us a hand with babysitting and housekeeping in Valencia, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 76 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Greetings from Alboraya! We are Emma, Miguel Angel and little Dafne, a Spanish family living in Alboraya, a town next to Valencia. We are both software developers and in 2017 we became parents of little Dafne. We have lived in Berlin, Dublin and Valencia, where we own a nice apartment. We love slow travelling, meeting locals and experience a cultural exchange.

    Our nursing style with Dafne is spending quality time with her with no screen time, letting her do or watch the house activities and letting her gain independence and self confidence. We enjoy toys that are not technological, that do not assume any gender and that can be used in many ways. Emma loves doing DIY toys for her.

    Fun fact: We don't iron, there's no iron at home.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We've got wonderful experiences as travellers and hosts in other hospitaly networks and as we currently need an extra hand we wanted to try workaway . It has been a smooth, helpful and rewarding experience so far.

    You'll be part of our family. You can expect a nice tour to our surroundings and lots of tips if you want to explore further. We're always willing to improve our language skills so you can expect some conversations in English but more than happy to also improve your Spanish if you are interested.

    Valencia is a historical city with an active cultural agenda worth visiting in any season. You'll fine blue-flag beaches in Alboraya and Valencia, a stone throw away from our home. If you like the country side, historic towns, interesting landscape and/or hiking we've got plenty of info for you to know our region better.

  • Help

    Help

    Ideally, we are looking for someone with experience taking care of toddlers willing to stay with us for 3-4 weeks during that period.

    We mainly need help taking care of Dafne during the weekdays, generally 3 hours after lunch in a regular schedule. Emma works from home, so you won't be alone while babysitting. Housekeeping with a baby is hard, so an extra hand taking care of arranging the kitchen daily, taking care of her laundry also almost daily (we wash a lot!) and doing a general house cleaning once a week is welcome.

    Dafne was born in July 2017 so she'll be 2 years all next summer. She's a healthy happy toddler who enjoys playing and smiling. She already walks and communicates with some words and lots of sounds and signs so the activities you will do with her include playing at home, going out for a walk, changing her diapers, reading her books (she loves books!), putting her to sleep her nap...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll stay in the guest room.
    We tend to prepare simple meals during week days and something more elaborate during the weekends. You're welcome to use the kitcken to prepare your own meal or have lunch with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in Alboraya, a town next to Valencia. You will find all the amenities expected for a urban life (shops, cafes, restaurants, gym, markets...), while enjoying a relaxed environment.

    Alboraya is well connected with:
    - Valencia center by direct underground line (5 minutes from home) that will take you there in 13 minutes.
    - Valencia train station - direct underground (trip takes 15 minutes)
    - Valencia airport - direct underground (trip takes 30 minutes)
    - Valencia bus station - underground (trip takes ~25 minutes)
    - Patacona beach, Port Saplaya beach (Alboraya beaches) by local bus, or by walking (it takes ~25 minutes) or riding a bike
    - Malvarrosa beach (Valencia beach) by underground

    La via Xurra, a bike route of 19km, passes nearby. The town has some walking routes to discover the gardens and rural buildings. Alboraya is famous for its horchata and fartons.

    Things to do & see
    ===============

    Valencia
    --------------------------
    - Visit its historic centre, one of the largest in Spain, that includes Valencia Cathedral where Tribunal of Water is held (Intangible cultural heritage by UNESCO), Torres de Serrano and Torres the Quart (old gates to the city), La Lonja de la Seda (World Heritage Site by UNESCO).
    - Interesting neighbourhoods are El Carmen (part of the historic town centre), Benimaclet (former village now part of the city) and El Cabanyal (part of the sea village, ends in Malva-rosa beach). Ruzafa is a trendy neighbourhood these days to go out to lunch/dinner.
    - A visit to City of Arts and Sciences is a must. It is a unique complex devoted to scientific and cultural dissemination which includes an IMAX cinema, an interactive science museum, one of the largest aquarium in Europe and an opera house.
    - Parks, museums, peculiar cafes, where to eat a paella...let us know what interests you so we can recommend you more


    Day trips (with public transport from Valencia)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    - Visit L'Albufera, have a paella in El Palmar (one of the best places to eat it), visit El Saler and the dunes beach. Access by urban bus.
    - Xativa, part of the route of the Borgias, it is a historic city with an interesting town centre that includes a castle in the slopes of the Bernisa Mont, a Collegiate Basilica and multiple churches dating from XIII to XV. Access by regional train.
    - Sagunto: historic city with the remains of the Citadel, a Roman theater, partly restored in late 20th century, and with the narrow streets of the Juderia (Old Jewish Quarter). Access by regional train.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Guest room





Host ref number: 197191954674