Stay with us at our isolated, off-grid home near Inverness, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 385 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/04/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our seventies, Bev is a violin maker and Jill is a "professional" granny. We live on a isolated peninsula without road access so visitors have to arrive on foot along a rough track or we can collect you in our boat. We are off Grid and our power comes from a wind turbine and PV. We have a cat and hens and most of our vegetables are home grown. We often have family visitors, especially our grandchildren. We have been Couchsurfing hosts for several years but we now seek visitors for a longer stay.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    General help and some of it quite heavy especially in the garden. Help can vary from collecting seaweed from the shore to harvesting vegetables and processing wood fuel.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can have a double or single room in the house or accommodation in our barn (two beds).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are no shops or pubs but there are lively community entertainments. However, there are plenty of outside activities such as walking, climbing and swimming.
    Public transport is very limited but it is sometimes possible to get a lift with a neighbour to Ullapool or Inverness.
    We have a big kitchen-living room where we spend most of our evenings chatting, reading or watching tv.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 196414975265