updated   Last minute

Help me around the house and with cooking in the sunny countryside of Málaga, Spain

  • Favourited 57 times
  • Last activity: 15 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hablo Español.
    Je parles Francais.


    Hello! My name is Maëlle but friends call me Mox or Moxi. I live in a small village in the South of Spain in a loft apartment with two cats.

    I'm 40 years old. My father is French and my mother is Colombian so I speak French and Spanish fluently. I'm a painter, I work with acrylics and watercolor. I also write, dance, and like to have deep conversations. I'm quite a talker when you get me going but can be very quiet and introverted. I do smoke herb (can't stand tobacco) inside my house but keep it very well ventilated. I do eat meat and don't care what you do so long as you can respect and work with the fact that I will be eating meat while you're here. I would love to paint with you, hang out and talk, listen to music, or go out for a walk in the village to show you my favorite spots.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a village in the deep South of Spain, if you don't know about Spain, it's a great place to learn. It's also an hour away from major cities, and even closer to small smaller but beautiful towns like Ronda and Coín. I'm a language teacher and am happy to exchange some conversation and help with Spanish. If you want to paint I have some materials I can share, and my family is Colombian so depending on when you're here you might experience some Colombian culture as well.

    You can go hiking, and when it's warm there are a couple of beautiful water spots with waterfalls within hiking distance.
    The town is a quaint quiet little town that has the very basics.
    Some pepople are homophobic, transphobic, sexist, and racist, and might stare you down, but beyond people looking at you rudly, the town is safe, and many people are incredibly kind.

  • Help

    Help

    I live with my family close by, however I've had a very hard time making friends and finding community here do to the town being very small, conservative, and limited in resources.

    I have chronic depression and severe ADHD which combined with the job market, makes it incredibly hard to move forward. I am not physically handicapped but high levels of fatigue and the executive dysfunction I get are at times paralyzing.

    I am essentially looking for someone to help me with things like cooking, grocery shopping, and some cleaning. For example the kitchen is yours to take of, I'd like some help cleaning the cat litters, about once a week I'd need help folding sheets, and sometimes you'd go out to run errands. Most of the day and week is yours to do as you please.

    In regards to the village: If you're looking for a beautiful, quiet, serene place to do plenty of hiking, that's an hour away from Malaga and Marbella then you'll love the village I live in. If you need nightlife, cultural things to do, or plenty of people, this is not your place and you will get bored.

    It is very unlikely that I will accept a cis-hetero man in my house but you can try if you're really called to.

    My ideal wish would be that I find a few true good friends doing this, perhaps you're traveling and need to take a break, or you're looking for a quiet getaway. This would be it. If this is resonating with you and you're at all excited with the idea, please send me a thorough message telling me what you think, and let's get the conversation going. I'm very excited about the possibilities. Talk to you soon!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love Japanese culture and took Japanese and would love to learn more Japanese. I'm a language teacher and can help with English, French, and Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We share the whole apartment. I have hot water, blankets, and the weather here is usually fairly comfortable unless there's a heat wave, in which case there's fans. I cover basic food elements.

    I live in a remodeled barn attic apartment, so I have high wooden ceilings and thick white walls. The living room, kitchen, and dining area are all one big space.

    You would be sleeping on a sofa bed in the living room, which would be your area. There's a small room dividerthat gives you some privacy. I have a small dining table and some chairs in the living room and fast wifi. My mother and sister live in the apartment below me, and we all have access to a yard and garden that we're working on to make it our little paradise. You would have full access to the apartment (except my bedroom) and the yard.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are buses every day to Malaga and nearby towns and taxis. There are a lot of places to go hiking, and places to go swimming during the summer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    You can work on the dining room table, and the internet is great, I work from home. There's a place five minute walking distance where you can print and make copies.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    MAYBE, if it's a small dog that gets along with cats. There's a yard they can be in as well but you'd have to clean any mess they make right away. One other cat could possibly also work but my older cat is a bit territorial .

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 195656199474

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Help us with DIY at our rustic home in the breath taking countryside near Malaga, Spain
Help with childminding, gardening and house maintenance in La Concha, Cantabria, Spain