Family looking to start homeschool program, looking for fun energetic person to help in San Luis Potosí, Mexico

Country

Mexico

Favourited 66 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/08/2018

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am an American living in rural Mexico for almost 18 years now. My husband and I have two girls, ages 9 and 11. We are looking to begin a homeschool program beginning in September of this year, and would like a creative, kind, and sometimes silly person to work for 4 to 5 hours a day teaching the girls in a fun and flexible way. We will have a curriculum and material in English. If you speak another language besides English and Spanish, we would love them to learn another one!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Teaching

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Teaching 5th grade and 7th grade homeschool curriculum to our 2 daughters. Note: we are homeschooling because of the lack of good schools in our town, not because of religious beliefs. We are open to any religious faith or sexual orientation. We are looking to start in August or September of 2o15. This will be our first foray into the homeschooling world, so if you have any experience teaching, that would be great. But even if you don't, as long as you like working with kids and are willing to learn as you go, we will give it a try! Also, patience is a must; my girlies are wonderful but they ARE kids, so they can be exasperating at times.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Spanish and English, some Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide either a room in our house or a small apartment nearby. Also, we'll provide a food stipend and lunch at our house during the week. No smokers please! We have 2 dogs, a hamster, a guinea pig, and fish, so be warned if you are not an animal person or are allergic to dogs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Xilitla is a small town in a beautiful part of Mexico. We are in the mountains, at about 700 meters/3ooo feet, in a semi-tropical rain forest. In your free time you can visit Edward James' surrealist architectual gardens, Las Pozas, and the area is riddled with caves and waterfalls to explore. There are buses and taxis to get around the area. It is hot and humid for most of the year. Winters are short, but foggy and rainy so it feels a lot colder than it really is. The town itself is not very pretty, but the people are open and friendly to foreigners, and the surroundings are amazing. We have wifi at our house, and there are internet cafes everywhere. We are looking for someone to commit to 6 months if possible, but we are flexible.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My daughters at La Cascada de los Comales in Las Pozas
Soledad de Zaragoza is in one of the 252 comunidades in the municipality of Xilitla.
Nuestra familia--our family
The entrance of Las Pozas seen from the Stairway to Heaven. The garden is in the middle of a semi tropical rain forest. It is unbelievable--an Alice in Wonderland kind of thing.
This is a litche tree. They are delicious!!!
A view of Calle Ocampo, seen from the plaza.
Host ref number: 195533889662