Help our small family to create an organic farm in Paranam, Surinam

Country

Suriname

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very small family (mostly 1 father of 53 and his son of almost 5 years end 2 grandparents) with a small property (6 ha). The plan is to clear 5 hectares of land from grass and afforestation. Then the ground will be leveled. Finally, the soil will be planted with mainly sugar cane and other plants and (fruit) trees. It is hard work in often burning sun. If you like hard sports where you sweat and certainly lose weight, this is your chance to turn your work into a sport. For the rest it is a lot of peace and thought, eating fruits and vegetables from the garden and drinking various natural drinks. In your free time we, or you can go to the capital of Surinam or make various trips to the jungle. There is a lot to do if you are adventurous. We need 2 strong and positive, with preference, non drinking or smoking volunteers where age or gender is not important.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you have an open mind and are adventurous, there is always something to learn in different areas. That applies to everyone. Be open to new situations and help us to reach our great biological goal.

  • Help

    Help

    The help mainly consists of felling of low to high grass, shrubs and low forestation. Plowing the ground. If you like it, you can also cook, clean, repair tools, do minor repairs to the house, everything is negotiable to provide a basis for an organic farm.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Dutch, English, German, little Spanish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The place where you will stay is not primitive. There are toilets, showers and running cold and hot water. There are mattresses, sheets and pillows. You just have to handle it properly. There is a private small house with 1 bedroom and 1 living room where the person(s) can sleep. It is not private.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 193252131153