Community castle, help us settle in and grow our own food in Oraas, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, we are a group of people that bought an old castle to turn it into a conservatory for life and culture. Our project is to build a resilient living place with a botanic garden-forest, seed library, a book library, a workshop (wood, metal, natural dying, potery...), some cultural center (japanese culture center first because some japanese are involved in the project), and a gateaway of a global ecovillage network. We also want to be a part of an international netwok of places than respect life and free circulation of people.
    We moved there in 2021, right now we are 4 people living there and our objectif for this year is to settle, growing our own food, building a green house, cleaning around buildings, organizing some cultural event...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speack french and japanese at home, but we can also communicate in spanish, english and a bit of russian. We will adapt our planning depending the capacities of each visitor, we can teach how to manage to reach self-suficiency in many area. Join us and you will be a part of a network of lifestyle that respect life and nature.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help for the daily life, we want people that help naturaly and spontaneously in the garden, kitchen, cleaning. We considere guests as member of the community, that imply to care about the balance of the place. We ask at least 3 hours a day of help for one meal and a roof, we ask for more time for full pension and for a formation.
    We have a long experience with helper from precedent ecoplace wherelse, if you are independant and motivated we will have a wonderfull experience. We favor travelers those are willing to build an alternative international network that value life and sharing.
    Thanks to read and see you around.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Japanese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner
    Chinese (Cantonese): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love learning and teaching languages. We can teach french, japanese and english and we are open to learn any language and particulary chinese that we are curently studying

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room in the old castle or a tent provided depending how many people are there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a wonderfull area, full of beautifull places. Between 2 nices cities, which are Sauveterre-de-Béarn and Salies-de-Béarn. We are at the piemont o the pyrénées mountain, and we are 45mn away by car from Bayonne and the Atlantic Ocean.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 189462735415