Help with finishing touches to our home in St-Felix-Lauragais, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/05/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Haute Garonne
    Hi
    I am the owner of a rustic house in a quite French hamlet. We are surrounded with sunflowers when in season. Right outside our French Doors we can see fields and fields. They are planted alternative years. This year is the year that we should be surrounded with the sunflowrs again. My partner and I can do most things but, because of time restraint, there is only so much he can do. I am fully retired so intend spending more time in France.
    I have been told wher we are I very tranquil. I love it, but when you have a place for so long you get used to it and don't always appreciate how nice it is. We have a lovely and calming view and generally I am just happy to sit and relax. Sometimes with no inclination to do anything but to just sit and enjoy the tranquality. Maybe, thats why it is taking us so long to get it finished. Most friends that come seem to sleep like logs.
    We don't have animals but have the company of the neighbours dogs. The house has an unusual shape and sleeps 6 to 8 people. We have a downstairs shower and toilet and and upstairs working toilet and sink. Plumbing upstairs is all ready for shower, but have just discovered that the upstairs hot water is not powerful enough.

    The layout is, lounge with stove, we have a bedroom off this, where my old uncle loves to sleep as he does not like the stairs. It is not finished but comfortable for him. We have a decent size kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher. We aim to put in a window in. The kitchen but because of various problems it has been delayed once again.
    We have a mezzaine with atrium on the first floor and we have 3 bedrooms there. All bedrooms need finishing but all very funcitional, there is a step to a corridor that leads to the upstairs bathroom and back bedroom with another toilet. Between the back bedroom and bathroom, are steps up to a further mezzaine. This has 2 single beds. We also have space above the toilet which may require some work.
    There is approx 8 houses in the Hamlet. Our house is hidden around the back so we have good views. There is 1 Bar/Rest about 5 mins away. Our closest village is St-Felix-Lauragais. The closest town is Revel, where there is a fantastic market every Sat. There is a lake called Lac Ferriol, you can swin and wind surf. Also great for walking or cycling. We are also close to Castelnaudary, where you have the Canal du Midi. You can walk or cycle from close to our house to the Rigole which is a small canal that you can cycle along for miles. This can take you to Revel and further. You can also cycle from Castelnaudary to Carcassonne or further all along the Canal du Midi.
    We are in the house from various dates. At the moment I am there for the month of August
    it is short notice in looking for help but hopefully someone will be interested.

    We are a very laid back couple, my partner in his early fifties while I am a bit older. He likes to cycle and play tennis, I try to cycle a bit too.
    We are 1 hour door to door from Toulouse airport or approx 45 mins from Carcassonne Airport.
    We don't have a swimming pool but a blow up spa which we got last year. The lake is close enough for swimming and Revel has a swimming pool.
    We are looking for people with common sense, someone for about a week or a bit longer. We have a field and if you are finished working with us, we can come to some arrangement for the right person or persons to camp in the field.
    The people we require would need to be flexible. There are lots of small jobs. This year we specifically need someone to help my partner fit a window. He needs help with the labouring etc. He is fun to work with. Lots of small jobs to do. Someone with carpentry skills would be an advantage.
    My partner is a keen cyclist and tennis player and loves a game. Ideally someone who plays tennis is a bonus but don't worry if you dont.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a lovely area of France. I recently heard it is known as the quite region. You have a fantastic market in Revel every Saturday morning. Revel was the home of many cabinet makers, unfortunately that has now diminished. There is a Wood Museum of marquentry in Revel. ' La City' in Carcassonne which is a fantastic sight to see. They do a fantastic display on Bastile Day. it is said that it is 2nd to Paris in its fireworks display. In its time it was a city within a Castle. You have the vineyards in this area also. Bassin de Saint Ferreol was built by Pierre Paul Riquet which, is the feeder for Canal du Midi. There is a museum about the building of the Bassin. There is a geyser in the woods near the Bassin. Great on a very hot day as the water shoots up and sprays down and you are in the shade of the trees. Soreze is another beautiful village on other side of Revel. Soreze Abbaye is where Napoleon went to school. Pyrenees not too far.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in finishing off 1 bedroom in particular. The plasterboard needs finishing in some areas. This will not be big panels just finishing bits, get it ready for painting.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The bedroom that would be available is comfortable with double bed, bedside de cabinets, wall bedside lights, lots of power points, wardrobe and small chest of drawers. There is a toilet off this room also. This is the room that requires finishing and you may need to move to another room while it is being painted. There will only be 2 of us staying at the time we require the help. Option of other bedroom.
    There is no internet, we can usually get the code from our neighbour for the wifi. Internet signal not great. McDonalds just down the road, also the Bar/ Rest gives me the wifi code.
    If someoe wants to cook, I have bo problem, if not I or my partner will do the cooking. We will also supply the wine and some beers.
    We have TV and satalite but again not great reception.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Unfortunately, local transport seems non existent I have seen bus stops but never actually seen abus stopping at the bus stop on the main road. There is a good train service from Castelnaudary, goes to many places. We can arrange to pick you up from Castelnaudary. Train from Toulouse to Revel also.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a field

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 189233227357