If you have a passion for community building and sustainable city planning, join us in Rotterdam, Netherlands

Country

Netherlands

new host  

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a working single Mom with a passion for community building and sustainable city planning. My kids are 8 and 14. Our little flat (100m2) has already received a lot of love since I bought it in a run-down state in 2004. Because I work 32 hrs it gets harder to keep up the maintenance, so we are really happy to host handy women and men who can help us out here and there. Also, it would be cool to take turns in cooking and cleaning - so in fact the basic co-housing activities. In return, I can give you a kick-start to Rotterdam - I have a fairly good network, especially when it comes to sustainable and community initiatives.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Rotterdam is known for its multi-cultural character and modern, innovative architecture.
    On a personal level, I am happy to exchange language skills and thinking about sustainability.
    Our family lives a low-carbon lifestyle: no car, no dryer, no dishwasher, very little plastic, low-meat and mostly organic and local food.

  • Help

    Help

    Carpenting, building indoor furbishment, building garden boxes for the rooftop.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A double bed in a private room. Our flat is small (100m2) but we have an awesome roof terrace that is perfect for yoga, meditation and sunny dinners!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live close to the fringes of Rotterdam, so it's good for cycling, running, hiking. Rotterdam has three arthouse cinemas and a few nice musea.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The Wifi here is pretty basic (no streaming video's for example) but the good thing is there are different places in the house where you can retreat and concentrate.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We live on the third floor so it might not be so friendly to big dogs... otherwise, all pets are welcome

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Ten hours a week, or so.

Host ref number: 188268596939