Enjoy our lifestyle near the baroque town Lecce and help to create a home library in Salento, South Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    79.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 7 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    December 2021 Update: Dear volunteers
    I'm terribly sorry but I'm going to renovate the house and start big works (pipes in the bathroom, breaking the floors...). So I'll stop hosting people for a while. I myself will move to a friend's house!

    My name is Serena, I'm 47 and I live in a beautiful house near the baroque town Lecce, South Italy, in the historic center of San Cesario. I teach Philosophy and History in a secondary school, and I'm also a Counselor (humanistic-existential approach). Have a small synergic garden where I grow vegetables and flowers. I love writing poems and composing songs, and I would also like to start some experiences in video art.
    Have 5.000 books covering all the humanities and need help to organise a home library, and to turn my house into a cultural center.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests will be welcomed in a nice place in a quiet village, where they can also relax and learn our language, our food, visit the wonderful baroque town Lecce and its surrounding area, take part to some local events, such as art exhibitions, music, ecc..

  • Help

    Help

    I welcome some help with general maintenance (house and garden) removing some old stuff (also pieces of furniture by the previous owner), help with my home library, organising and cleaning thousands of books on the shelves!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guests will have a private bedroom. The bathrooms is in common. Vegetarian food is provided, and guests can feel free to cook by themselves any time they want. Have no TV at the moment but I do have a strong wi-fi connection

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can easily reach Lecce from Brindisi airport, where a shuttle takes you to Lecce. I can pick you up in Lecce or you can take a local train to San Cesario, which takes 5 minutes. You can use this train to go to Lecce or to other villages in the area of Salento, like the famous touristic destinations of Otranto and Gallipoli. The seaside is breathtaking any time of the year!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 187976966375