Car enthusiasts to help with vintage British cars and enjoy the outdoors with us in Massachusetts, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/11/2021

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a stunning part of the country with loads of nature trails for hiking, skiing, biking, and birdwatching. We are both avid naturalists and love the outdoors. Our daily routine includes hiking and exploring nature with our dog.

    Help us with our vintage British car home business! We sell car parts online and take apart old cars, as well as restoring and fixing cars in our shop.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are willing to instruct long-term workawayers on the basic skills required, help teach English, and pay an hourly rate. You can become part of our family, participate in meals with us and enjoy leisure time when we do fun things. During covid-19, it is difficult to get involved in the local community, but we belong to a vibrant dancing community and participate in social singing, dancing, and performing arts. The neighboring towns, including Amherst, are college towns and have loads of restaurants, bars, and opportunities to get involved in.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who has a knack for working with cars, performing repairs and maintenance and is open to being given a variety of tasks involving cleaning, preparing, and getting car parts ready to sell. Your tasks may include things like removing a part from a parts car and bead-blasting it so it is ready to be shipped to a customer, or cleaning and sanding or assembling car parts. We are also interested in someone to do more administrative things, like placing orders with suppliers, responding to emails, and photographing inventory.

    Ideally, workawayers would be willing to help in household tasks such as cooking and caring for our animals in exchange for sharing our home. This includes letting out/closing in our chickens and feeding them, walking the dog, cleaning, and similar light housework tasks.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two grown kids, and a nice guestroom with its own sink and attached bathroom. This would be an ideal place to quarantine upon arrival, and a then there are a few rooms you could choose between to stay in. You may eat with us or prepare your own food as you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live fairly remote to the nearest grocery stores (10mi) and shops, but have a (stickshift) car that workawayers may borrow.
    Fun aspects of staying with us:
    making maple syrup from our trees in the spring
    learning to care for animals
    leaning/improving English skills
    learning songs, natural history, carpentry, basic mechanical skills

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good wifi connection for you to use. We do not have a TV.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of land and have had friends stay in their campervan in our driveway for an extended period of time before. Lots of places to stay, camping sites, and we have a firepit you are welcome to use.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have two dogs but are willing to accommodate your pets! We love animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days per week


Host ref number: 187772839571