Come and help on our family farm in and explore the Glentui, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/08/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our late 50s where I Peter run a deer and cattle operation on 150 ha at glentui in the Oxford area in north Canterbury South Island New Zealand .my partner Judy is a sales rep covering the South Island in which her job takes her away from home a lot. Glen tui is an amazing place to live with having native bush with easy walks an amazing bird chorus in the mornings and a river suitable for swimming and fishing at our back door.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Judy and I are always keen to learn and hear about other cultures and lifestyle.Judy is a foodie and likes to experience other quisen.We appreciate we’re we live not only Glentui but NZ as a whole and would like to share our experience with others .We are flexible with hours for travelers to explore.

  • Help

    Help

    We raise 150 4 day old calves in late September . Like all farms spring is a busy period were we require hep with calf feeding, cleaning of cafeterias and animal husbandry and odd farm jobs . We will train as we go approach

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a seperate room to main house with double bed with a wee kitchenete suitable for breakfast and making hot drinks .Main meals will be provided for. There’s a tv with videos in your room and wifi

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ideally should have own transport as living in country with no public transport available .We are an hour away from Christchurch,sea,mountains,lakes and ski fields

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 186461117111