Help with our homeschool children or with gardening and animals in Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 15 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi everyone,
    We are a family of four : Thomas and Marine the parents, homeschooling our two kiddos 5 yo and 7 months.
    We live in a small village in the country near to Figeac city.
    The Lot where we live is a great rural place with a lot of touristic things to do. (Visit, walk, speleology and many more).

    We live in a great house but still renovating it, Thomas is carpenter and Marine is a family therapist (helping with individual, couple or parenting issues) and also EFT therapist.
    We are growing a 200m2 vegetable garden, we have three sheeps and a great family of rabbits (just for fun and mow the lawn). We live near to a great natural swimming spot and great walk paths.

    We take care of our kids just by ourselves (no help from family or school or nanny) so we both work in part time jobs so there is always one of us at home with the kids.

    We are passionate about everything we make but still have only 24hours a day.
    We need extra hours so everyone could feel comfortable.

    So as we think about this, we decided to give "workaway" a try and see if it could help us and also let us meet great people and discover different cultures.

    Also, we think this could be such a great experience for our homeschooled kids to meet people from other culture and spend time with new people.

    We love listening to music (or playing but don't really have enough time for that but we do have a piano and a guitar) , to spend time discovering people around a great meal, laughing, enjoying small daily things like the place we live and the smile on our kids faces ;)

    We just want you to help in what you prefere : you could help us just playing with the kids few hours a day so one of us could cook, clean, work a bit in the garden, take care of the animals..or if you prefere you could help us in the garden and letting us time with kids. Or make a little bit of everything.
    The important thing is that we ask workawayers to do something they like : if you are interested about kids, education, homeschooling well great join us for that ! If you are not so much into the kiddos but really interested by working in an organic garden then join us for that and let us with the kids.

    We just need a little extra help, but don't expect (or want) to live with workawayers full time. That's why we prefere to take travellers for less than 15 days. Of course we can adapt and be a little bit flexible if needed so let's discuss this together.

    We both speak english and spanish (and french of course), but Marine is more fluent in english and Thomas is bilingual in spanish as he lived in Mexico and Columbia years ago.

    We want you to feel comfortable and to enjoy your time here !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Organic gardening : we both made a professional training in organic gardening and we have great experience in it so you could learn with us from that.

    Alternative education, childcare : if you are interested by new discovery in affective neuroscience, Montessori teaching (but not only), homeschooling, communication tools with kids and people generally, then we have a lot to share about that : books, (some in english), knowledges...
    Marine gives lectures and animates actions around parenting so you can accompany it as much as you want.

    EFT healing : while Marine is an EFT therapist, she can share with you this amazing tool and teach you how to use it for you and for kids

    Cooking : we both love to cook so we can share out best recipes with you ;)

    Essential oils and plantbased healing : we take care of ourselves with natural ingredients like essential oils or oily chewers, we have some recipes to share with you about that.

  • Help

    Help

    Have fun with the kids : playing outside, inside, playing with family games, art (painting etc), reading books...
    Please notice that we are raising our kids in "positive discipline" or "educational benevolence" (don't know how to say it in english good enough). So we settled a frame where the kids could feel secure, recognized, emotionnaly safe. It means we are not lax neither authoritarian. It also means that mutual respect and the blossoming of the relationship are at the heart of our educational project.
    We will be very careful about it, if you are interested in this kind of education but don't know really how to behave with the kids, feel free to come and we could help you thinking about this and discover education and communication tools about that.

    Helping with the garden : watering, gathering, maybe canning for the winter if you are interested by helping us with that

    Helping with the animals : make sure they have always water and food, move the mobile fence with us (don't take so much time),

    So I repeat : you don't have to do all this stuff, you could do what you prefere and let us make the rest. We just ask you to help at least 3 hours a day.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french, english, spanish, few thaï words !

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Please notice that we are still renovating the home.
    So the living room, the toilets (which are dry toilets by the way) and Marine's office are fine but the kitchen, playing room, bathroom are old but in working order.

    We are currently making some works to prepare a real guest room for you. So if you come early you might be in a 12m2 room, with a two person bed. The wallpaper was taken off but the walls have not be renovated yet. So it is pretty ugly to be honest, that is why we putted a lot of large hangings on the wall so it is cozier and nicer. We don't have electricity in the room for now so we use a extending cord and an electric strip so you can use lights and charge your devices.
    In the winter we will make the whole renovation so you could have a great, nice and perfectly working room after that ;)

    The bathroom is shared with us and it is just a shower, a mirror and a sink.
    The toilets are dry toilets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Location :
    In the village of Lacapelle Marival where we are you can go by walk in the center ( restaurant, bakery, coffee, doctor, pharmacy...) or in the swimming spot. You could also walk to join a little supermarket and a local produce store.
    We can lend you a bike if you want to go faster.
    The train station is 10mn away, you could go by train in every touristic spot like Figeac, Rocamadour, Cahors..
    We are less than 30mn away from the great Rocamadour so we could take you there if you want to discover.

    We could take you 30mn away easily but our son has a medical condition that prevents him for staying too long in a car. So for going further we will try our best to find you another way (like taking you to the train station or looking for a carpooling for you etc).

    About our previous experiences :
    We had great experiences with welcoming a few people with airbnb and we loved it.
    We had also a really bad experience with flatsharing so we are maybe a little bit nervous about things going bad after that.
    We also used to be wwoofers and felt sometimes exploited so we definitely don't want our guests to feel this way!

    The most important thing for us is we all take advantage to this sharing, that everyone feels great and respect each other space, point of view and that every commitments is hold.
    Meaning if you said you will be with the kids 3 hours a day, we don't want to look at the clock and tell you to do it.
    We want you to be involved and motivated in this sharing, as we feel involved and motivated welcoming you in a good way and being available for your needs : teaching you stuff, discussing about some, taking you to a nice place...

    Open and respectful communication are the key as we think so never hesitate to tell us about something who could bother you.

    We love living a happy, simply and funny life with a lot of laughs and great moments outside so we especially hope that we all will have a great time together !

    Meals : we eat mostly organic and we eat meat and fish but we could accomodate and cook vegetarian for you if needed. Gluten free is also easily possible, feel free to ask about everything like this.

    Products : please use eco friendly products, if you don't have some you could use our soap and shampoo.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 185586399621