HELP me finish my kitchen/bathroom renovation in Victoria, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/06/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    570

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to read :)

    Welcome to Australia, I hope you have an awesome time wherever you choose to go.

    This older house I now own in Yallourn North was built by a post WWII displaced family . I would like to finish restorng it, at the moment we have pulled out all old wall coverings to find the original house and work out a better design - This area consists of kitchen, toilet bathroom, verandah, needs more light and possibly extend verandah 6ft to be the full width of house.

    I also have the original external bathroom/laundry. The orchard only consists of about 10 fruit trees and the 5 section 1940's chicken is more like a mansion.

    HONESTY, RELIABILITY, HUMOUR and GETTING ALONG is crucial and NOT NEGOTIABLE .

    There is also this time of year April to June opportunity to help on friends farms, doing general farmwork, firewood cutting, stacking and delivery, to give you more variety and some pocket money :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Can assist with English. Live in an area with lots of history and lots of hidden beauty as we are surrounded by bush. Also have almost all nationalities in this area as it was a hub of industry and many post ww2 displaced people came to this area to live in safetly from almost every country in Europe. Culturally we have it all :) From England to Russia to Asia and Australia.

  • Help

    Help

    INDOOR WORK -
    - sorting household items for disposal
    - various minor carpentry jobs [experienced]
    - helping with renovations [experienced]
    - insulation [experienced]
    - plastering [experienced]

    OUTDOOR WORK
    - gardening,
    - general yard cleanup
    - Landscaping [experienced]
    - tree lopping [experienced]

    Would suit those who like cooking, D.I.Y., gardening, creating, love a challenge, thinking outside the box, I don't have all the answers so am happy to learn from others and get input and ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some Ukrainian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    House has 3 bedrooms - with either king single or bunk beds.

    Also plenty of room, power and water for caravans, camper vans or RV's if needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    FOOD COSTS - you have 2 choices. [ I PROVIDE BREAKFAST]

    1. FOOD COSTS ARE SHARED BY HOST & VOLUNTEERS - we shop together, choose food YOU like and split the cost evenly - work is only 2-3 hours a day & food costs are $10+ per week, depending on what you choose.

    2. IF YOU HAVE EXPERIENCE AND CAN WORK UNSUPERVISED - THE HOURS ARE 5 HOURS PER DAY, and I supply lunch and dinner as well [ of my choice]

    PLEASE STATE WHICH FOOD ARRANGMENT YOU WISH WHEN YOU REPLY . Also what work you have done before, and anything else you would like to do or learn.
    =================

    MY AREA has lovely country views, in a small quiet town, 1.5 hours East of Melbourne.

    No nightclubs or night life but lovely nature areas all around as well as PO, Foodworks, Op Shop, Pub and public swimming pool, Christian Churches, Mosque and Serbian Orthodox and lovely Bush walks in all directions. Lake Narracan is within walking distance, with swimming, speedboats etc. Also lots of sports in area depending on season, soccer, Aussie Rules, roller blading, hiking, bike riding and lots more :)

    We have major towns and Shopping Centres about 15+ km to South East and South West, also reliable 2 hourly bus service to Moe, Morwell & Traralgon.

    Having your own vehicle will allow you to see more than via public transport.

    Day trips to Melbourne are possible as well as day trips to many tourist places like Walhalla, 90 Mile Beach, Phillip Island, Mt Baw Baw and many more.

    The downside for some is that we are the Hub of the power industry, with open cut coal mines and power stations supplying power for Victoria.

    I value and need HONESTY, tidiness AND a sense of humour to stay in this whacky house - preview is available and if you don't think it is for you - that is fine - just let me know.


    We only speak English to help learn the language faster.

    We can quite often offer a change helping out friends doing farmwork.

    If this might be for you please contact me for more information

    Blessings

    Janina

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 - 5 hours per day 5 days a week

Wahalla township - from hillside walk past gold mines
My gums - lotsa firewood here
friday is spring clean day
group photo before marathon game of UNO
ready to go on 4 wheel drive to Whalhalla
sunrise from back verandah
4 wheel trip to Walhalla - drive through river
local lake, which is glorious in summer and a lovely walk on a nice day
Murray Rd, West most st that leads to the hills behind house
View of W Station keeping our power supplies flowing
view of back section before last clean up
My House.... in the middle of the street :)


Host ref number: 185159362958