Help an Icelandic family with cooking, cleaning and childcare in south-Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 547 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    34  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    498

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to read this and for your interest in helping us out.

    !!
    We're currently not looking for help until we see what happens with covid 19.
    !!

    We are a family of five that live in the south of Iceland in a lovely small town about an hour from Reykjavík, the main capital of Iceland. We're a calm and friendly family. A husband and a wife, 43 & 32, been together for over a decade. My husband has a lovely 20 year old son, he’s very polite and nice to be around. He tends school in the capital but visits us every-other weekend.
    Then we have a 5 year old son together and a six year old foster son. They're both lovely little boys and full of love. Also active and adventurous so an experience in babysitting would come in handy ;)

    Our previous workawayers have been able to easily communicate with them despite the language barrier and they are starting to understand English better and better.

    We have been extremely blessed with wonderful workawayers in the past and are excited to welcome future workawayers to our home :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We’re a typical Icelandic family. We love to stay at home and enjoy each others company. We also love to spend time in nature. We’re looking for a calm, friendly person who still likes to keep to her self sometimes :)

  • Help

    Help

    The help required:

    Cooking dinner: It’s absolutely vital that you're able to cook tasty food :)
    • We’re looking for a person who enjoys cooking, and can cook various tasty, healthy dishes. ...And if you can bake that is a big plus!

    Cleaning the house & laundry: Keeping the kitchen clean and keeping the entire house tidy and clean. The house is 150 square meters in size and on one floor, so it’s not that big.
    • It’s essential that you have a good eye for order and cleanliness.

    Babysitting: The main reason why we’re looking for help is so that we can spend more time with our boys. But sometimes we might ask you to look after them for a short while at a time.
    • It’s extremely important that you love children <3

    Other random things: We might ask you to help in various areas of the home, gardening, painting, etc. But please note that we would never ask you to do anything you are uncomfortable with or something that is out of your ability.

    Please note that we are only looking for female workawayer, I don't mean to be discriminating but me being a female I just feel more comfortable with a female living in our house. I hope you understand.

    And we want to make two things clear right now:
    1. If you do not fulfill some of these requirements but are really interested and eager to learn we're open for discussion.
    2. If we find out that you do not fulfill these requirements at all, and that you perhaps turn out to be a wacko or something of that nature, we'd shanghai you right back to the place you came from ;)

    ...........

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have a nice little room in the house with a big window and a garden view. But feel free to spend time in the kitchen and living room just as other members of the family do.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You get 2 days a week off. It would be ideal for you to go explore the country. Here in the south there are endless opportunities to sight-see and the capital, Reykjavík, is about an hour away and we have buses going about 3x a day to the city. Also the bus goes just about anywhere in the country so you can practically see all of Iceland in the time you would be staying with us. Also hitch-hiking in Iceland is very safe, easy and fun.

    We're very flexible with making it easy for you to travel the country, so if you need extra days off to do longer trips it's no problem at all. You'd then instead work a few longer days to compensate.

    We always find balance :)

    Note that you’re also welcome to spend your days off at the comfort of our home if you’d just like to take it easy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kristofer and our very first workawayers, Lena, on a forest walk one lovely day.
Having a pick-nick with workawayer Helina :)
Einar and Daniel playing on a grass field
Daniel and daddy hiking
Rebekka and the boys in a natural hot pool with workawayer Soline
Kristofer having a good moment with workawayer Candice.
With grandma and grandpa at the Icelandic sheep herding.
Kristofer being adorable :D
Daniel taking care of the weekly shopping in the grocery store
Brothers

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




















Host ref number: 184653726527