Help on a busy family farm just outside Castlemaine, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 13 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    240

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    G'day folks!

    *️️️️We are only accepting requests of two weeks at this stage*️️️️

    We live on 10 acres of land just outside Castlemaine, approximately 1.5hrs from Melbourne. We're really not too far away. It's just a short train trip or a freeway drive all the way. It is really easy to get to our place! If you have your own transport we will provide you with the details. If you are arriving by train, we can arrange to pick you up from the nearby Castlemaine railway station.

    We are in the process of establishing ourselves on our block, and as well as a few current projects we need some help with the maintenance of our little farm.

    When you apply, tell us about yourself! Where have you been? Where are you coming from? Do you have any specialised skills? (Anything at all! whether it be carpentry, snake-charming, frisbee throwing, banjo playing, wool-spinning, juggling... whatever!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like to include our helpers in as much of our daily life as they wish to participate in. Shopping trips, family visits, and when we can, considering work commitments, give a tour of our local area.

  • Help

    Help

    At our place you will find bees, chickens, horses and a friendly dog or two. There is a half finished vegetable garden and a fruit orchard that needs some help. There are also weeds that need removing, fences that need fixing, seeds that need raising, trees that need planting, and a house that could do with a bit of a tidy up on the outside. Your duties would include helping out with these tasks, and hopefully a little cooking and keeping the kitchen tidy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In exchange for 4-5 hours per day of help, you will of course receive food and accommodation. We enjoy communal meals as much as possible and try to provide a range of nutritious food, though we cannot really cater to specialised diets other than vegetarian (eg vegan, gluten-free etc). We currently have internet which you are welcome to use, so long as it is treated respectfully. You should expect to have 1-2 rest days per week, and if we can we will show you around our beautiful area or you can take a trip to Melbourne.

    You will have your own bedroom and share the bathroom with other family members

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This Central Victoria area has a rich gold mining history. We are only about 20 minute drive to Bendigo which is a large regional city, established in the gold mining era. There are numerous wineries, cideries and many interesting places to visit and sights to be seen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 182829577354