Experience Autumn's beauty whilst caring for two adorable cats and a house and garden in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. My name is Sarah.
    I am a polymath with many loves and interests, including my two beautiful indoor cats and a home and garden that are my place of respite, to regenerate from my very busy life and where I study, practice yoga and meditate.
    My amazing sons have moved on to bigger lives and are not available to care for my cats, tend my garden and many indoor plants or look after my home.
    In March I am going overseas to visit my aging father, whom I haven't seen for years, and also attend the World Congress on Complex Trauma, an area I specialise in.
    If you would like to stay in a multi-culturally diverse area of Melbourne and experience Melbourne life from a resident perspective, you will enjoy this opportunity.
    The trip I am taking is from mid-March for about a month, so I require someone to commit to being here whilst I am away.
    I am happy for my guest to stay longer, either side of my trip. Then I will be able to introduce you to Melbourne and help you connect up with locals who you can enjoy spending time with and learn more about this fabulous city.
    Melbourne has many secrets to be discovered, an excellent live music scene and is the food capital of the world, offering high quality meals from all cultures. There are also many beautiful landscapes to enjoy within and around the outskirts of Melbourne. Victoria has everything from surf beaches to mountains to deserts and lakes.
    Please contact me ASAP if you are interested in taking up this opportunity.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Living in a residential area you will experience the diversity that Melbourne has to offer. You will have access to transport to be able to visit all of Melbourne beautiful galleries, museums, parks, libraries, shopping precincts, markets and taste a wonderful variety of delicious food, and have the benefit of a comfortable, quiet home to return to, where you can rest and relax with two loving cats.
    Whilst I am in Melbourne, I am happy to spend time together with you, speaking English, and will help you get to know the city, where to find the best places to eat, drink and meet people, and show you the many interesting tourist destinations.

  • Help

    Help

    Hi.
    I will be travelling to England, Europe and the United States to care for family and attend a conference, so will be away from 14th March to 8th April.
    If you would like to care for two indoor cats who are used to regular feeding and and abundant affection and tend the various indoor and outdoor plants, whilst staying in a comfortable home in a multi-cultural area, then you will enjoy this opportunity.
    There will be a car available (providing you have a Drivers Licence) and there is a train line to the city 10mins walk away. The house is comfortable and easy to maintain. I would prefer a single female or a couple to help out.
    Extended time beyond this is negotiable.
    I am very keen to meet whoever would like to take up this offer.
    If you have additional skills, such as building, especially fences, that would be very attractive! There are a few jobs that need doing - fencing, clearing gutters, fixing the driveway, minor repairs and some household chores. These are optional, not essential.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Two bedroom house - one bedroom available for a student/traveller. Open plan living and dining area. Study with a vast array of books. Kitchen with good appliances. Bathroom with shower and bath. Separate laundry. Separate toilet.
    Front and back garden which attract many birds.
    Two wonderful indoor cats who enjoy lots of love and attention.
    Placed in a small, quiet cul-de-sac, near a park and close to a creek, where there are native animals.
    Local train and near a freeway which both run direct to the city.
    Internet with unlimited download.
    TV with access to Netflix, Foxtel and other pay and free TV channels.
    Car available for use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of excellent shops nearby with a diverse range of foods.
    The train and freeway can take you direct to the city, or you can stop off at the various destinations on the way and experience the many wonders of Melbourne life.
    If you arrive well before I depart, I can introduce you to my family and other people who will support you whilst you stay here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3hrs per day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 179518694175