Come and Help us with building a small Permacultural Garden in Berlin, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 304 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ☛ ❤️
    ✌️

    We envision for our small garden to be a holy place, a protection zone for insects and animals. We have only 700Square Meters, however we want it to be wild and full of trees, plants, a variety of rare herbs and wild herbs, birds, insects & butterflies. We are starting from scratch which means a meadow wants to be transformed into a garden.

    Main tasks: Digging to plant trees and bushes, building beds with stones, cleaning up areas, moving around stuff, building of a wooden platform. Please be aware that this can be hard physical labour, since the clay ground can be very hard. There are also stones which need to be lifted around.

    For a one Week period we ask for 24 hours of help a week (3 - 4 days) in exchange for food and accommodation. We have 3 days off for volunteers to spend how they please, relaxing in the apartment in Berlin or going out to explore the city.
    We have bikes that we can lend you for the time of your stay. During working days we will provide you with breakfast, lunch and a warm meal. We only use organic products. Please note that we are both vegetarian. However, we don't mind if you do eat meat. we just wont be cooking any meaty dishes for you! :-)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️ Just a few side notes to double check needs and make this a satisfying experience for both sides*️️️️️️️️️️️

    The space: Our garden and the wooden cabin are under construction. It's not a ready place yet but we have running water and electricity. During the time we are working on the project in the garden ( 3 days) there will be a tent for you, a compost toilet but no shower, no bathroom ( you can swim in a clean lake) We have an improvised kitchen. Cooking and cleaning in this improvised space takes a little bit more effort and time. The wooden cabin is still dusty and under construction. So we are aware this can be a bit challenging because it is less convenient. If you don't always require convenience, you have experience with living outside like camping or festival lifestyle for example, then our place would a good match. Ask yourself how much comfort you will require. For the remaining 4 days in Berlin you will have access to all amenities, wifi, bathroom, kitchen and a clean single room.

    Our needs: Currently our priority is to move forward with shaping of the garden, planting more trees and finishing one wooden platform. There is some work required inside the wooden cabin. Water installations etc. We are looking for helpers who will join us, during the 3 days of work, in all tasks of required work in the garden but also cleaning up, cooking and washing up, going shopping etc. We would like to have independent helpers who are proactive in joining into the required tasks and can think in community needs. For example prepare a breakfast a coffee or tea or a snack for the others.
    Most likely we will have 3 helpers at a time. We are looking for proactive people who are happy to help during the time they are here and not afraid of engaging in the world of the garden. You are also very welcome to share ideas you may have for the garden design or the process of work. We hope for a shared experience, a sharing, mutual dynamic during this time. This is what we are looking for in this experience. We are supporters of freedom and authentic behaviour.
    Since we expect that you are here out of free will, we will enjoy giving you the space and time you need and trust you support us from your heart and know your limits and your abilities. In return we are happy to support you, provide you with healthy foods that we can prepare together and share our home with you. We offer you a private room in our place in Berlin for your free time. We will try to accommodate your needs as best as we can but also expect in return our needs to be respected.
    If this resonates with you, you are very welcome.
    Please indicate in your letter that you have read this and are ok with this. If you have any questions let us know.


    kiata and dieter

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a quiet area close to Kreuzberg, Neukölln, Friedrichshain. During your stay you can use one/two of our bikes to get around in the city. We are happy to accommodate two friends who would like to share a room.

  • Help

    Help

    Digging / Planting trees & bushes
    Moving around stones, Carrying soil & stones, moving around soil
    Housework

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german and english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room with shared bathroom & kitchen. Bike.
    Location: Wildenbruchstrasse / Harzer Str. Berlin. Breakfast, lunch and dinner on working days.
    The garden is 30 minutes drive away from the city.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transport is very good in Berlin, very well connected. We will offer you a bike during your stay, so you will be able to explore the city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 days per week ( 30 hrs )

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 178345759694

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more