Help welcome in a sustainable and eco-friendly hostel in the Elqui Valley, Chile

Country

Chile

Favourited 247 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/04/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    369

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATED April 2021
    Due to Covid pandemia, we have changed from a traditional BNB to a Full House rental. Guests are more independent and need less our help. Less interaction with them and also safer for them and for us.
    We are looking for help from June/July 2021 / Just one person and minimum 1 month up to 4 months.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Summary:
    We are Alejandra and Roberto, architect and hotel manager, a Chilean couple with no children. We love to enjoy life, share with friends, travelling, getting to know new places and, of course, giving ourselves the space to chill and relax.

    Since February 2015, we run a small , but unique bed and breakfast in the heart of this Valley, which is located 500 km north of the capital Santiago de Chile.It has just 4 rooms, with a maximum capacity of 10 guests. We also have a swimming pool, a lot of fruit trees, a organic garden, everything in 1 hectarea land.Ahh....and our mascots are 2 brown Dalmatian .

    We work hard to be a "green " b&b, so we do among others:

    We have solar panels for the hot water system.
    We do produce our own electricity through photovoltaic pannels.
    The "grey water" (water from showers or sinks) is separated from the "black'" water (water from toilets), using the "grey" water to irrigate garden and trees.
    The lights are LED, a technique very energy-efficient.
    We separate the waste like plastic, glass, cans and others for later recycling.
    All organic waste is used for composting and then serve as fertilizers for the garden.
    We are mebers of "Fair Chile", a foundation that plants one nativ tree for each guest we receive.
    We produce during the day our own electricity through fotovoltaic solar pannels.



    Any suggestion or help regarding this, will be really welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First starting with the language, Spanish, would be the first benefit. Chile itself is a good option to get involved in the southamerican culture.Since we are located in the countryside, it is a good opportunity to learn more about the rural Chile, also called the Real Chile!
    Since I have been working for about 20 years in the turism industry, this could also be a chance to learn about my country,not just about geography, also economis, social, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We look for someone over 20 years old, responsible , organized and clean that can help us in all our daily work:
    i.e:
    -- Mainly gardening (cutting grass, irrigating trees and plants, maintenance in general of the garden, maintenance of
    fences, taking care of our organic garden)
    -- Cleaning and maintaining the swimming pool every day
    -- Maintenance of our bikes,
    -- Helping to maintain facilities organized and clean. ( terrace, bodega, house )
    -- Other tasks

    Also it would be pefect to help us in Permaculture,organic gardening, and anything related to a eco farming.
    Kindly note, that 90% of the work must be done outside, in the garden, in the land or in our house, but Not with our guests.

    We offer three meals a day, free internet access, use of our bikes, pool, etc.
    We offer per week 1 full day off + one 1/2 day off.

    Things we really don´t like:
    That you are resting, while everybody else is working hard.
    People who depend 100 on tecnology, so they will never connect with the place and the enviroment and people.
    People who don´t use their common sense as much.
    People that eat, as it would be their "last meal" ever. We expect someone who eats normal.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a room that could be shared with another person in our house, sharing the facilities ( bathroom and kitchen )just with my wife and I. It is a small house with 2 rooms, right next to the b&b construction.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Since our business is 24/7, there is no fix agenda. It will depend on how many guest we have.During days off, the volunteer can use one of our bikes, to explore the valley and try one of the pisco destilleries. There is "colectivos or shared taxis that leave you very close to our house ( 1 block )

    Taxis are also available for a low cost. We are located 4 km from the city of Vicuña ( 30 minutes walk ) and just 1 hour from the beach ( La Serena ).


    If you have any questions, please do not hesitate in contact us!

    Warm regards,
    Roberto and Alejandra

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

















Host ref number: 178345737214