Help needed with maintenance of beautiful private ecosystem - Évora district

Country

Portugal

Favourited 82 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    52.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi guys, my name is Ana and I'm looking for staff to help us beautify a magic place and of course, exchange experience.
    Our 7ha property is located on the outskirts of Montemor-o-Novo, Évora. Rural Alentejo only AN HOUR from Lisbon.

    We are a family originally from Angola, with long ties with Portugal. 10 years ago my family acquired this piece of land and transformed it into a beautiful paradise. We wish to get actively involved in preserving it the best we can, reforesting the area and giving our old parents some peace to enjoy retirement.

    Living in the main house you will find auntie Zita and uncle João. At the garden shed, José, my cousin. He helps around although he works at the local resort. The dogs, Remi, Mona and Mozart. The cats, Pintas, Marmita, Ortiga, Prima and Vera (yup!). Plenty of chicken, roosters and geese too (we didn't name them tho). Plenty of gardens, trees, fruit trees, food garden, a small vineyard, beautiful African meals, and loads of social family gatherings. Like, a lot.

    Montemor isn't so small of a town, it should have everything you need unless you like shopping malls, cinema, bigger supermarkets. Then you need to go Évora, the district's capital.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will offer you accommodation, at the site, which will vary depending on your relationship with the other workawayer. Groceries will be provided.
    We also provide a ride for short distance trips and shopping for the house (if you drive).
    A personalised volunteering plan will be prepared based on each's personality, routine and learning preferences.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for (ideally) two fun, active and responsible individuals!

    Someone to help us replant the food gardens and herb spiral with permaculture, and restart our greenhouse. Feed the animals (chicken, cats and dogs), do some shopping, and help around the house, as expected. We are slowly reforesting the land, so our project is creating small gardens all around.
    Would also appreciate someone with woodwork experience, to help us build more creatively around the farm, and that could be in charge of minor maintenance issues around the property. We would like to have a treehouse and a sunset overlook.

    Ideally, I'd like to find the perfect team of pals, looking for a laid back time managing a farm and having fun with an Angolan family.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Portuguese, French, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private shed (bungalow style) or outdoor double room with own wc; outdoor kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Montemor-o-Novo is a great little town with great produce, vineyards, lots of cattle and a beautiful walking track along the old train station, that has now been transformed into a chocolate factory (FYI). Here you can find an underground scene with artisans, designers and modern craftsmen that gather around their awesome workshop site, an old convent.

    For a bigger shopping centre, cinema, skydiving or other activities you can go to Évora, a medieval Roman city only a 30 min bus ride. The city is full of students and tourists and is a great local spot to walk around and see the old architecture.

    The most beautiful beaches on the coast (in my opinion) are also only an hour drive (Tróia, Comporta, Arrábida).
    Lisbon is an hour bus drive away (wifi on board), just amazing!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 177184591598

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more