Help needed with creative construction projects in the mountains near Chirripo National park, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

updated  

Favourited 1801 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    82  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/12/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    432

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello soul searchers, november /December s Needs/painters/carpenter/plumber

    If you would like to learn stone work by helping to build shower/ walks/ path this is the time
    Need help with Marketing for online holiday rentals

    The Property I have is an amazing 3 1/2 acre property nestled in the small mountain town of Chimirol de Rivas, in Perez Zeledon near Chirripo National Park. The property is off-grid, surrounded by nature. WE have a private river with natural baths, a 32 feet waterfall, and beautiful jungle trees and wildlife. I have banana, sweet lemon, lemon acidic, plantains and guava trees growing, plus the new fruit trees that has been added but are not producing yet. Im hoping for vegetable garden... It is truly a magical place to take a step back and get in touch with the earth and the enchanted environment of Costa Rica.

    NEEDED
    MANAGER
    YOGA TEACHER
    RAW VEGAN COOK OR VEGAN COOK
    COOKING CLASS TEACHER
    CARPENTER
    MARKETING/SOCIAL MEDIA
    PERMACULTURE/ GARDENER

    Projects.
    I am renting out space to guests who are looking for a Natural health sacred SANCTUARY in this beautiful area. Either to experience off grid /free of electromagnetic field and to have mother earth re-establishing your circadian rhytm in doing camping... and of course by eating healthy. My wish is to give 28 day program to small group of girls between 18-26 ( transcending BEAUTY, enhancing self esteem self worth and our JOY by a daily SOUL EMBODIMENT) and one version for boys....

    Many of the PRESENT projects would be focused on building. I am looking for volunteers who can help to build table for the Green House, Massage studio 0aint the Tent Platforms, gate for the property entrance (So those with building and carpentry skills are needed!). I'm also looking for somebody who knows about tropical gardening and knowledge in permaculture.I also have daily plant/trees watering, working on gathering the dry leave for composting and property maintenance that needs to be kept up, so people who are interested in that, please still reach out! Also, those with marketing and computer skills would be a help too in getting my dreams come true

    More I'm getting volunteers and experiences in receiving. I'm realizing that there is definitively different kind of volunteers.
    There is the one who has no experiences BUT WILLINGNESS to help and that will be in need to be guided through each steps that needs to be done. Meaning that most of the time i will need to attend and work with them and teach them. So being open to receive directive/instruction is a good quality to have. Im learning as well... It is ok to know/to not know and to know that even if you think you know to keep an open mind that what i m asking might be different. If you think that you know and you can't take guidance and or you want to do only your way ,...even though you claim to be an engineer of some sort or been in construction for 25 this will not suit you...
    Those often don't really know and it becomes very costly...

    Others have no energy for what ever reason it is. So I offer a combination of options if it your situation. In fact this is one of the reason why i come with the ideas with those volunteers to create program that will support those young that need guidance and a day to day earth to earth experience to re- connect with who they are and not who they think they are .....

    and there is the one with not much experiences but have a lot of common senses and entrepreneurship. Which i still need to supervise but with less presence
    And there is the one with specific skills.... still it demands to be open as we all think/see/ear and process differently. We are all here to learn-

    if you know how to propagate the yellow bamboo and the big green bamboo... and or marketing skills please contact me.

    Im looking for volunteers that will respect their commitment to work the numbers of hours as we agreed. Breaks and cooking time and cleaning are not included in the volunteer time. Tidyness and participation is very important for the well being of the group.

    Day to Day:
    We typically start our mornings around 6:00 am work for about 4 hours, 4 days a week (total 15/16 hours a week) before it gets hot! Typically, I give Sunday /Wednesday and Thursdays off for the farmers markets in town. On Thursdays, I/we travel to San Isidro to the market for the week’s food; This will be our first Farmer s market experience together .we are on a vegetarian/ RAW vegan diet,at the moment we are sharing cooking preparation time, food and eating together.i don't provide food for the moment and this is one of the reason it is 15/16 hours volunteers work and not 20/25/30 hours.
    We alternate who is cooking/cleaning so that we have more personal/friendship time.

    Many people who have come have found the off-grid lifestyle extremely rejuvenating, however, for others it can be difficult to learn to slow down. But everybody enjoy their experiences. We have fresh water from the river (purified for drinking/cooking), solar lamps, composting toilets and the river serves as a perfect bath on a hot day! I do not have internet on the property, but in the afternoons, you will have time to go to San Isidro or San Gerardo toward chirripo via bus to connect (15 minutes). Or if you have on your phone a sim card you will be able to connect down the property. I recommend that you have a power bank for your phone if your phone need daily charging.

    Please note, this is a SMOKER-FREE, DRUG-FREE and COFFEE/SUGAR ALCOHOL/STIMULANT-FREE opportunity. Including JUNK food/PROCESSED food free. Also we are eating fresh and whole food/ no process food like bread/spaghetti but fresh pancake/zucchini noodle etc... This lifestyle should be respected if not this is not for you

    I do also have a cat her name is Cadeau who had 3 kittens who now 1 year old. i have not been able to separate them so they will be part of your journey with me. I also have two 6 months puppies. So PATIENCE / and love is required. The primary sense that is develop and in high function with dogs is that they can read the energies from 50 feet away. So good energy is required also. Yeah we have dog barometres!
    No animal cruelty of any sort will be tolerated

    motivated, creative health conscious people who would like to contribute are welcome

    Help—What type:
    Gardening
    Building, General Maintenance, language practice
    Art Projects
    cranio sacral, massage therapist etc welcome
    As noted above, my first priority will be for those who have building and carpentry experience

    Languages:
    English, French and Spanish

    Accommodations:
    Most of those who have been staying with me have been enjoying their own private campsite by the river. Tents or Hammocks work best (with tarps for the rainy season). In the dry season (high season), it does get a bit cold at night, so sleeping bags or blankets are helpful! I have two tents available that i can lend.

    What else…
    I do practice yoga and meditation, RADICAL FORGIVENESS so those who would like to follow a similar pattern of life are welcome. Those who have skills in massage, cooking and healing are also welcome! I enjoy learning from others and sharing.

    Cultural and Learning Opportunities:
    I have been working to learn more Spanish alongside those who visit me. I would love to continue in adding to my skills. Some volunteers have enjoyed setting up classes with the neighbors to teach English. Also, I am learning more and more about Permaculture and various other sustainable gardening and building practices, so to share this knowledge would be wonderful! I have many good books on permaculture....

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you want to join me for a green detox, meditation, qi long, Osho active meditation it will be an integrated part of the stay.
    t

  • Help

    Help

    Anybody who have knowledges in permaculture, trees erosion, carpenter are very welcome as it´s my first priority for the moment but I´m also keen to welcome any kind of other passionated or certificated people as :
    -Artist
    -Photographer
    -Therapists
    -Yoga Instructor
    -Gardener....
    Volunteer would be for 3-4 hours a day, 4 days a week. Different work would be assigned regarding the skills and the motivation and discussed prior with me.
    General/daily task would be:
    -Maintain the property
    -Lite gardening tasks
    -Clean the house
    -Fruit Picking....
    Example of complementary works needed:
    -Build outside shower/compost toilet
    -Green House
    -Paint a mural
    -Building platform
    -Yoga studio
    -Planting fruit trees
    -Hot tub by a river
    -Wood floor
    -Build a 2nd compost
    -Build a gate
    -English teaching to local children
    -Initiative work with local community
    -Health/Activity/Environmental program

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English...

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Mostly camping on a platform when rainy season and wow this is the best and occasionally I ihave invited volunteers to live in the house.
    Food is almost all organic... healthy...vegetarian for Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner, oreparation and eating together.
    The products will be buy on the local fresh market every wednesday and Thursday until self sufficient garden.
    As it´s nice, healthy and a varieted of food, participation is asking for each volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nearby there is Chirripo national Park where you can have a day hike and either sleep up there. It is 7 hours to go up and 5 to come down...
    Around the property there is yoga,dance, tai chi, music, spanish classes...
    San isidro the near city is about 30 minutes by bus. there is many bus a day to go in town.
    Farmers market 5 minutes walk every Wednesday and there is a big one in San isidro every Thursday
    Chocolate homemade, and Cheese farm nearby
    I have the neighbor that do the laundry for about 2,000_colones plus soap per load

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours day/4 days week

Mexican Mariana chef apprentice learning how to make salsa ah!
Mariana,Amely,Daniel...June 2017
Jac and Olivia learning how easy, fun and clean it can be to do the humane compost! We made a whole in the middle, then we put the humane bucket, the food compost (as you can see we chop all the food in small pieces) then we washed the humane bucket and empty the water in the compost and then cover the compost.
Robert's hammock in his sacred private space!
Jac having her shower!!!
CHRISTA and my worker Gerardo moving this big rock before eating a healthy nutritious meal! HIHi! (Feb 2017)
Meditating above the waterfall...
me and my happiness!












































Host ref number: 176454772183