Help our family with childminding and DIY in Masterton, New Zealand

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! My name is Eb (33) and I am originally from Ireland and my partner, Duncan (31), is a Kiwi. We have two little boys, aged 2.5 and 9 months. We live 5 minutes outside of Masterton on a property with a nice rural vibe to it while being close to town. I used to be a workawayer myself and love meeting new people, especially from different cultures. We are hard workers and have a big extended family so there is always something to do.

    This would suit anyone who is happy to part of a busy household.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are an Irish/Kiwi couple so you will hear lots of debates about which country is better. That being said, our family enjoys many aspects of the typical Kiwi lifestyle. Between the outdoors, hunting and fishing (seasonal) you will be sure to get a taste of the traditional New Zealand way. We also have a few blocks of land with sheep and beef and occasionally have different farm work to do there. We enjoy meeting new people from different cultures and love sharing ours. Eb, in particular, likes different languages and customs.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have recently renovated our house so there are lots of unfinished jobs and future projects both inside and outside. We have a 2.5 year old and 9 month old who are very active and get bored of mums face if you are comfortable with children.

    Occasionally, we could do with a hand with computer stuff if you are that way inclined. We will share dinner together and can all help out with food preparation and tidy up. My partner is a butcher and a fisherman (seasonal) and is always tinkering about outside. Hunting is a popular pastime in our household and, if you were interested, there could be an opportunity to be involved.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Irish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I love hearing different languages being spoken, especially Spanish. Always happy and patient to practice English. I'd like the kids the be around different languages and cultures too.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A separate building with your living area attached to the garage. The bathroom is shared and in our main house (separate to your living space). Your room has its own separate entrance, double bed, drawers, table and beautiful view. We will share dinner together. For breakfast and lunch, everyone fends for themselves or sometimes we might have it altogether.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do locally depending on your interests. We are 5 mins from Masterton, 15 to Carterton and 40 to Martinborough.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I would say our internet is good. Not amazing but not awful. Good enough for streaming and video calls and the likes.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 175954837481

Feedback (1)


Photos

Feedback



Come and help us on our lifestyle block and garden in North Canterbury, New Zealand
Lifestyle farm with mountain views in Marlborough, New Zealand