Experience life on a New Zealand cattle/sheep farm!

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 325 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/01/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Experience life on a New Zealand cattle/sheep farm! We live on a large high country station.
    I like to work outside! I love doing farm work horseback, studying natural horsemanship, working in the garden, taking care of dogs, and preparing healthy organic food. Sometimes the work is too dangerous for children. Which is why I like to have someone to help look after them. I have two sons, 12 years old and 8years old, with a baby girl who is 2 years old. My husband manages the high country station.
    We live 1 hour from Oxford. However, we live only 1.75 hours from Christchurch. Which is a fair size city with many amenities.
    We prefer non-smokers and we drink very little alcohol. We are spiritual, but not religious. We try to live as chemical and plastic free as we can. And we try to live in harmony with the earth. We love music! My husband and I play guitar and sing, and the kids join in! Mainly, we love to learn.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have ample opportunity to learn about children, natural horsemanship, dog training, sheep and beef farming, holistic grass management, organic gardening, and cooking from scratch.

  • Help

    Help

    You will work 5 days per week. You will work half the day watching children and doing farm/house chores. You can spend your time off riding horses and/or helping with the farm work or doing whatever pleases you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. But we love to learn languages!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I supply you with a nice Room separate and next door to the main house.
    We have a dog and a cat in the main house, but not in your room.
    I supply all your food. You will help prepare and clean up after all meals.
    You will have availability to Internet and phone. You will not have access to a car, but you can catch a ride to town occasionally and/or come with the family when we go. We go to town at least once per week.
    I supply the horses and tack.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can pick you up and drop you off in Oxford, Rangiora or Christchurch.
    There will be a two week trial period. If either of us doesn't like the situation, then we happily part ways! If you are interested, please email me and we can have a Skype interview.
    I require a 2 month minimum stay.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 175396537846