Come make a lot of friends, be around young people and enjoy food together in Redfern, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 104 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2020

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Looking to hire two part-time (15h) workers for a big project in Surry hills in return free room in one of Sydneys most popular well located suburbs

    The objective is the transform the property and its 30 rooms from shit-hole to lovely share house (see pictures) as well as find new occupants for the property. Renovations include common kitchen, 5 bathrooms, outdoor area and Re-furnishing of bathrooms

    First position will help to organize and manage renovations, including planning and management of tradies and labourers, organising material, transport etc. (drivers license is a big plus)

    Second position will be to manage current and new occupants. This includes advertisements, conducting inspections, signing leases, collecting rent, and handling issues and complaints.

    Skills include but not limited to
    - assertiveness
    - autonomy
    - creativity
    - accountability
    - good people skills
    - being handy

    Basically you will need to be able to come up with creative ideas and ways to improve the property, maintace and service and put these ideas into action in a timely and budget efficient manner. You will work autonomously.

    I want you to own part of this project be proud of what you will have built. You get to be as creative as it gets and do so on your own terms. The only thing that counts is that the result is a beautiful, cozy lovely home where people will come together and enjoy sharing their house with each other. (photos attached of privous projects)

    This will be challenging but you Will have a lot of fun working and making new friends

    Please write me why you would love to be part of this exciting project and how you imagine a perfect share housing experience

    Please also write me if you can't or won't work with me but have ideas or inspirations, how to make this project better

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You Will live and work in a fun environment. You will make a lot of friends working here and hanging out in our backyard. You will be around young people who want to build a beautiful home for young people. You will have your own room with a fridge and a kitchen to cook and eat.we will aslo cook together.
    If you have any more questions or want to check out the house please contact us.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    We're renovating a 30 room house in Surry hills and need your help to do it. Work will include cleaning up, moving furniture, buying new furniture, driving, organizing things, fixing things, painting, intacting and helping current and new occupants.
    I am looking for someone who enjoys doing hands on work and who loves getting to be creative. I don't want you to wait for me to tell you want to do. I want you to discover your creative side, and come up with cool ideas to make this house more beautiful and work out by yourself with other people working here or with me how to best put your ideas into practice

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single private room (couple room on Reguest)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy the beautiful city of Sydney and meet interesting people from all over the world

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15h per week

Host ref number: 174996641584