Help on our 10 Acre Organic Farm and enjoy small gatherings with good food, music and fire in Corvallis, US

Country

United States

Favourited 210 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    760

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small family farm located in Corvallis Oregon. We are looking for help all year. Individuals, couples and travelers are welcome. We are close to town, and close to the forest, right on the Willamette River. We are first generation farmers, learning how to take care of the land and feed ourselves. We are a vegan farm. We have cats and dogs but no livestock animals. We enjoy sharing lots of meals. Most of us are in our 20's and 30's. Its a short bike ride to downtown or college campus. We like to take trips to the mountains to go camping and visit hotsprings. Portland is 1.5hrs away and we go there usually once or twice a week for business or parties:) We also love to visit our property on the coast 1 hour away.

    We have hosted atleast a dozen workawayers so far and had great experiences. We have met some incredible people from all over the world. Some have even found long term work/living arrangements here:) We look forward to meeting many more intrepid travelers in the years to come!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a strong sense of community here. We value art and music. We practice a vegan lifestyle. We love animals. We like to have small gatherings with good food, and music, and fire.

  • Help

    Help

    We have many projects going on the farm. We have around 5 people living here and another 10 people that come here for work. We are looking for help handling the extra tasks that come up as a new and expanding farm. We are attempting to expand from 2 acres to the full 10 acres of our property this year. This involves putting in acres of fruit trees, vegetables, and hemp plants! Some areas we expect to need help with include: gardening duties, manual help, food preservation, cleaning/organizing, data collection, and soil building. We also encourage everyone to find their strength and be creative with the ways they contribute. Art and music are definitely appreciated here. Murals are encouraged! We take food seriously so chefs are always welcome. We always gather around the dinner table and group (vegan) meals are a great way to contribute daily.

    Update for 2020: Current Projects include gardening vegetables, weeding, transplanting, pruning. Helping with our new 5 acre hemp crop! Construction projects like building tool shed, greenhouses and compost center. House chores like cooking and cleaning. We have lots of space and supplies for making art and murals.

    Please let us know what your interests are and we will try to find something fulfilling for you!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We are a newer farm but we are well equipped for seasonal fluctuations of workers. We have beds set up in the house and a travel trailer for guests. Depending on time commitment we can arrange private rooms or camping spots. We like to focus on all the aspects of communal living and love a full house:) Just let us know what you're into! We try to eat communal meals together and encourage everyone to cook and share food. All vegan. We have separate area for guests to store and prepare animal products.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are lucky to live in a secluded setting but just a couple miles from town. Corvallis and Oregon State University are just a few minutes away. We are also in close proximity to plenty of hiking trails and natural attractions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week










Host ref number: 174651929669