Help me to renovate an old farmhouse in the Haute Garonne, near Aurignac, France

Country

France

Favourited 34 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, I am Vanessa and I am an English woman in my 40s. I am renovating am old farm house and garden in the Haute Garonne, France near the small town of Aurignac. I would love to meet travellers and have some help with the building work and gardening.


    My property is very rural and quiet. It is set in 8 acres of pasture with views of the rolling countryside and fab views of the Pyrenees mountains. I like to think of your time with me as part work and part retreat. It is a great place to just chill out, read, write but there is really not much happening around so you need to be happy with that! I love to go hiking in the mountains and there may be opportunity to join me with that.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am especially interested in encouraging women of all ages to travel in this way and encouraging them to do D.I.Y. and basic building work themselves. It is not difficult! I love to meet new and interesting people. I have backpacked myselt a lot around the world and volunteered in this way and now enjoy being a host to other travellers.

  • Help

    Help

    The help varies depending on weather, mood and what needs doing at the time. Mostly indoors tasks are plasterboarding ceilings and decorating. Outside the garden needs a lot of clearing, strimming, weeding and I keep a small organic vegetable garden which needs maintaining. There is also some work outside repointing stone walls. I have an old Massey Ferguson which anyone with mechanical skills is welcome to tinker with.

    I would like about 4-5 hours help a day, 5 days a week in exchange for food and accommodation but I like to be flexible with that i.e. some days maybe more and some days less.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will share the house with me and my two cats and will have a very large room with your own bathroom or a double room with shared bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am about one hour south of Toulouse. The house is outside of the village and there is no public transport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 171418631211