Help out around my large vegan garden in the lovely city of Ithaca, New York, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 80 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello. I am a vegan activist, and I have started a large vegan garden. It is not a business, just a hobby. I work full time as a non-profit director, promoting vegan food. We are mother and daughter living here, so for our comfort, request other women or gay men. Couples are ideal as I can not always be out in the garden with you due to my work, and I think it is nicer for two to be working together, and because we have one queen size bed for our visitors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live just outside Ithaca, New York and it is a wonderful small city. There is much to do here... hiking in waterfall gorges, art, culture, a wonderful farmer's market, a nice downtown, and so much more. I am a vegan for reasons of animal ethics, health, and the environment. Vegans or anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the vegan lifestyle could learn a lot here!

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for farm/garden help. The farm is a new farm just established last year. It is 1/2 acre in size. It is not a business and there is no income from it. I am working on establishing a farm which in a few years will be more productive. Right now I am working on getting everything set up and in place.

    Some examples of the kind of work visitors would be doing:
    *️️️ Weeding
    *️️️ Planting Crops
    *️️️ Soil Improvement (adding mulch from grass, leaves, and straw/hay)
    *️️️ Special Projects, such as creating a Hugelkulture demonstration project, pole bean tepees, lasagna garden
    *️️️ Make a stone wall
    *️️️ Mow grass (to create mulch and maintain pathways in the garden)
    *️️️ Help build a tool shed
    *️️️ Fencing repair

    There are many jobs to do on the farm and which ones we do depends on the time of year that it is and what needs doing at the moment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom on the first floor just next to the kitchen with a queen sized bed that currently is a mattress on the floor. There is a full bathroom attached to the bedroom, that is also accessible from the front hallway. All visitors would be required to adhere to a vegan and gluten-free diet while here. We will cook and clean together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are so many other things to do in Ithaca and the surrounding area, such as hiking, swimming, visiting art galleries, visiting Cornell University or Ithaca College. We are in the Finger Lakes area of New York. There is a farmed animal sanctuary an hour away, which I will take visitors to if they are staying at least a week. There is a bus that stops at the end of my road, just 2/10ths of a mile from the end of my driveway, so visitors could have some independence if they don't have a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 169689895551