Help a family with gardening, maintenance and fun in Mid Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 9 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We're a friendly family, made up of myself and two children who love meeting new people. We live in a quaint stone cottage in the rolling hills of mid Wales, where we have recently moved for a change of lifestyle. We have a good size garden and we'll slowly be working to update the cottage. I have big plans for the garden and will be introducing a few chickens and a fruit and veg patch soon. We have a cat and a puppy! We're a busy family. I work full time as an international environmental specialist and my children go to a lovely school full time and like to socialise with friends and pursue hobbies. We live around 2.5 miles from the nearest shop and village, but we're not remote, with friendly neighbours around us. We have a good sized town within 5 miles and are about 1hr from the beach - which we are trying to visit once a month. We have space for a small campervan on our drive, for those without a van, we're hoping to get a glamping type pod or cabin soon, or if we havent arranged that yet, accommodation would be a large single room in our house. We've had people stay with us before, including au pairs and volunteers and have enjoyed sharing our lives. You'd be warmly welcomed and invited to go places with us and explore. I have a bike that can be used for exploring too. We're an environmentally conscious family that likes to grow, cook and eat and there's a great selection of lovely fresh quality food where we are. We try to live in an environmentally friendly way too. I'm very interested in plants, gardening and sustainable food. You'd be welcome to join family meals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to get to know a beautiful green part of the world, practise English, learn about plants and gardening, practise building maintenance skills, integrate into a lovely family and generally have a nice time.

  • Au pair

    Au Pair Host

    This host is looking for Aupair help in the UK

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for help with the garden, animals, family life, house renovation, language exchange, babysitting (including when i have to travel).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Room in our house, space to park a campervan or a cabin / glamping pod on our property. You'd be welcome to share family meals or provide for yourself. If you enjoy cooking we wont say no to that!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our nearest town is Welshpool, about 5 miles away. There's plenty to do, especially if you like nature and outdoor activities.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Variable, but around 3 / 4 hours per day 5 days per week; more when i have to travel


Host ref number: 169328783972