Help us work on a project in the grounds of our house, Bristol - UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband & I are both now retired & live in a quirky old house dating back to 1686 in rural South Gloucestershire (outskirts of Bristol - about 2hours south of London). We are working on a project in the grounds of the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an area steeped in local history ( our house is mentioned in a couple of books) & Bristol is a great place for sight seeing, music etc. The project would give the opportunity to learn some simple building/landscaping skills. We also keep a flock of free range conservation breed chickens & my husband is a bee keeper so if the travellers wished to get involved with either of these then we would be happy to share our knowledge but would not expect them to be involved with this unless they particularly wanted to.
    I am currently trying to learn Spanish & also how to play the guitar. I am a student of Taekwondo & also attend yoga classes. My husband is the bee keeper and is a keen rugby & AFL supporter (since our son took up playing in Australia when he was travelling).

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to host and it would be great if anyone would be prepared to help my husband out on a landscaping project that we are working on in the garden main skills required would be to push a wheel barrow, fill & operate a small cement mixer.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english - little bit of french - I'm trying to learn Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate 1-2 people with their own room with use of the main bathroom ( we have an en suite attached to our room so effectively a private bathroom). We would be happy to offer food and accommodation in return for assistance on the project. Not done this before but thought that may be the equivalent of 4/5 hours per day but happy to negotiate on this. Our two children are adults and effectively have left home now. I like to think we are reasonably relaxed sort of people, we try to keep the place reasonably clean and tidy ( but we take shoes off in the boot room to limit mud ingress) but we live in an old rural area property so it we don't live in a show home!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Probably best to google Bristol / South Gloucestershire - as lots of places to visit. We are about 45 mins away from Bath and South Wales via the Old Severn Bridge. There are a number of sports centres, shops, cinemas etc in the area. There are also a number of country walks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 168747232757