Help create my dream retreat at the gateway to the Scottish Highlands in Dunoon, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 158 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2020

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Volunteer in our preparations to get our place ready to use.. My dream retreat centre. Help start up the organic garden and reinvent the orchard in the walled garden.My name is Maggi Simpson and for the last 12 years my partner and i I have been renovating and getting the house together, running on enthusiasm. doing the roof, garden and insulating the rooms. We have a Chihuahua and two sheep, Ecki and Kissi who keep the grass down and live in the chicken shed! We welcome people to come and experience this beautiful landscape and learn how to work within a community, with others , for a common goal. To produce a place of peace.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can stay in a Victorian summer villa on the edge of a Scottish sea Loch an hour away from Glasgow, Scotland. The property backs onto a native wooded hill, which runs into a pine forest for instant access to hill walking, where you will find red deer and red squirrels, and see amazing views. You can participate in Yoga an use the infrared sauna and learn relaxation.skills. We have Kayaks to take out on the loch. I offer a massage to everybody who stays for a month.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love to materialise this dream with painters joiners/carpenters, cleaners, gardeners, Chefs, stone wall repairing, Woodcutters.Inspirational eco input. Web/marketing. Volunteers would typically come for a month work for 4 days and have three days off a week to explore Scotland.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have rooms with shared bathroom, bunk,single/twin/double depending on availability. All food provided, Shared preparation and clearing up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day for four days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 168197425662