Come and enjoy the lovely Austrian countryside

Country

Austria

updated  

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    UPDATE

    Upper Austria - Styrian border - FOR AN IMMEDIATE START IN OCTOBER
    for strong arms or a motivated couple - maybe for a longer period stay - on a flexible time schedule:
    enjoy our beautiful countryside with all essential amenities, a a small village with its mountain lake and many hiking trails and good transportation links (rail and buses)
    As for taks they would involve household duties and shaping up the house and our garden,to make it look beautiful - first preparations hibernating and clearing and cleaning garden beds, all windows of the house need to be cleaned, curtains taken down and put up again plus and partly possible house clearance, involving carrying boxes and furniture out and around is probably due , general thorough house cleaning - all work necessary in view of preparing the house for holiday rent , and whatever arises (painting, wallpaper etc. -
    possibility to learn or practice german or french in a friendly and homely atmosphere in exchange for lodging and free food .
    drop us a message
    ================
    FRANCE: - in 2020
    as from early summer, around June 20th - we need some helpers with good physical fitness to help indoors and outdoors in France , shape up a property close to the atlantic coast .... allrounders with a hands-on mentality, able to fix bikes and other stuff, painting experienced , someone who knows how to make dry stonewalls etc.
    Female applicants are more inclined to be asked for cleaning, gardening/weeding, ironing, sorting out clothes, sometime cooking and odd duties, that might come along.
    Could be someone working with us in Austria first, travelling for free down to France or vice versa ........

    We are a French/Austrian couple in our sixties- this way opening our house to world-travellers - offering a roof and decent food as well as some of our time, for those wishing to give us a hand in exchange.
    You should not come to us if looking for a paid part-time job, however if you on a job search once you've been here - maybe we could help you finding one...........

    In AUSTRIA we live in a lovely valley surrounded by mountains, offering a lot to mountain-bikers, climbers, walkers and nature lovers without being shut off the surrounding villages, as well enough transportation links are in place (bus, train, etc.) the next Ryanairport Linz is only about 85 km away.
    There is a mountain lake, public swimming bath, shops, restaurants , bank, post office , alpine coaster, walking paths
    etc. - all waiting to be explored by bike, hiking or with public transport

    We are looking for one or more independent, healthy and uncomplicated person(s) in regard to food, time schedule and tasks - clean and tidy, non-smokers and no drugs - and willing to do a good job in whatever asked for.
    We can also accept serious couples.
    You can get free tuiton in german or french if interested,- or conversational language practice - in addition to free board
    and lodging .
    we would mainly be interested in spanish speaking candidates to improve our spanish or those wishing to improve already existing notions of the german or french language - but are open to other candidates, of course
    If interested in a break during your stay , then this can be discussed so that for example you can work more hours during one week or two and as such have time to go and visit other places or shoot off into the mountains or visit
    Vienna, Salzburg, Munich etc. for 3-5days max./month

    It's up to you do decide the length of your stay , knowing that 10 working days would be a minimum-
    to be extended upon mutual agreement and on the same or different conditions.
    Once arranged, we'd rather count upon the agreed time.

    Age or nationality are of no matter to us - only the willingness to blend in with our life style and accept priorities.
    Vegetarians , of course, - but will have to be happy with the side dishes provided or buy or/and prepare their own meals.
    Vegan seems too complicated to us but if you buy and prepare your own food and has no impact on work - then ok.....
    Pse note, that he contents of the fridge and larder belong to your host, as neither in Austria (nor in France - where we sometimes live) it is customary ,that people just go and help themselves - so IF, -beside the meals offered, you have an extra craving or special fancies for food, pse arrange for your own shopping and keep them in your own storage. Ourselves we only take coffee in the morning, but you can help yourself to a continental breakfast with basic ingredients supplied.

    On non-working i.e. off-days, probably both sides wish to be free - or otherwise some mutual agreement can be come to onsite for small excursion to explore the regions etc.. Sandwiches or simple food can be supplied on non working days, but it will also be your cook's day off !! IWe we can be helpful in obtaining cheap travels to places you might like to visit. simple lunch packets can be provided.

    IMPORTANT: no free internet, we ask for a 30 € fee for Internet/month in Austria, 15 € fortnight, a tenner if stay is shorter for streaming etc. and against which you'll receive our code. This is a participation to cover the costs and will contribute to heating during the winter when we lodge other workawayers too

    Otherwise halfboard and a small lunch is provided for free against max. 5 hrs daily x 5 days a week on a flexible schedule i.e. plan, upon mutual agreement, which should give you plenty of free time to explore the region or fulfill your leisure programme.
    We'll also be happy to spend time with you and to exchange point of views at times, at other times we need our private sphere as will you.
    .
    Pse get in touch if you feel that a stay with us might tempt you and/or you wish to experience the joys of late autumn and winter pleasures for various sports.. Looking forward to reading you soon and to give you more information, if required.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Opportunities to visit surrounding places, to learn how to cook local dishes, to learn or
    improve German or French if interested, get involved in conversations regarding local customs - behaviours - mentalities

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks around the house (window cleaning, storing away stuff, tidying up, cleaning rooms etc. thoroughly) gardening (trimming, taking out plants, tidying plant beds etc) ,shoveling snow in the wintertime . packing up stuff and helping to clear a house from clothes and partly furniture. General maintenance. Maybe computer help
    for ourselves partly spanish tuition and conversation would be awesome ( we do have a slight preference for spanish and latin american -already based in Europe- workawayers) but also consider any other travellers.
    Nothing for partygoers etc, though, the local tourist office provides attractions, but more for hikers, bikers, nature loving people wishing to be received as a family member and immerse into a typical austrian or french environment .

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    german- english - french - some spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If possible own, well sized room with integrated shower corner/wash basin)- or else shared room, if we happen to have 2 workawayers at the same time or if stays overlap.
    Privacy guaranteed.
    Use of garden etc..

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In Austria: the village is 6km away with all necessary amenities and can be reached by bus (winter) or bike (summer) - there is a bus stop only 2-3 walking minutes from us with a 10 minutes ride down. 1h walking distance
    to the village center.
    Buses service the neighbouring villages and trains will take you to our capital city, LINZ -
    for a shopping day out or else to VIENNA, if you want to profit of a free 3 -5 days break.
    There are plenty of things to explore though we must admit, that we won't be the right place for partygoers
    (even if our village provides one or two discotheques) and/ or people who always need things happening around
    them and /or are full of blissful intentions in changing the world. Take this into consideration before getting in touch.
    However, if you are keen on skiing, or do any other sports and ready to spend some money on (alpine) sports we can make some kind of arrangement i.e. less hours with dinner only during the winter month,where you will be up on the slopes.
    We like people to be independent and sometimes self-sufficient, other time - when available -s we can do things together

    In France - where we sometimes take workawayers ,things are quite different and work more intensive physically
    and the next opportunities as from towards end of JUNE , July, August and September 2020 with half a holiday feel, as you can use our lovely gardens and pool after or between work. Gardening, Watering plants, weeding, cleaning and clearing, household chores - would be convenient for a serious couple or 2 mates, with a hands-on mentality and ready to work and not idling during working hours, which are split up anyhow most of the time so as to ease ''work-load'' and give you breaks for coffee and a huge break for swimming, hiking, cycling or just resting in between.
    PSE ENQUIRE IF INTERESTED.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs (25hours max/week)





Host ref number: 166591927329