Lovely place in haute Pyrenees

Country

France

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/07/2019

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello People,

    I am a female in my late 50's but fit, strong and doing major battle with building works and the garden!
    The house is a lovely place to be and I am sure that if you like the countryside and animals, you would enjoy spending some time here.

    No denying that I need people to work hard and therefore, would like to find people who are motivated, fun and fit. People who will give 5 hours a day 5 days a week...starting in the morning! However, it is my home, you are my guest and a warm welcome awaits you.
    It would also be brilliant if you like dogs, cats, chickens, sheep, playing ping-pong and just generally chatting, sharing wine and meals.

    The village is 3 km from a pretty town with 3 bars ( not all necessarily open at once) a restaurant and a few assorted shops.

    There are good walks and I am not too far from the mountains which are beautiful any time of the year. There is also a small sailboat and a sailing lake with a beach, nearby, It would be delightful to have people that know how to put it together and would like to go out on it. There are a couple of cycles here.
    Look forward to hearing from the bold and the brave !

    June :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I feel that the work here would prove that you can make a real difference with dramatic and relatively quick result. This always looks good on a c.v. with photographic evidence. Embracing this kind of work with a good heart is rewarding in so many ways, not least proving what we are capable of which is confidence giving.
    There is opportunity to mix with local society and improve French and or English.
    We are moving into one of the most attractive times of the year and there will be time for you to explore, pursue your own interests or indeed, just relax and enjoy all the lovely sights and sounds that the countryside has to offer.
    If I have people who are on side with the work hard, play hard principle, then I am free during late afternoon and Sundays to take you off to the mountains, visiting local towns, the lake, Toulouse and therefore giving you a chance to know this part of France.
    Some of my guests have often spent weekends away to camp, climb or 'do' Toulouse, Biarritz and Spain whilst others feel it does them good to completely chill out at home on a sun lounger and catch up with all the reading that sometimes one does not get time for unless removed from their regular lifestyle.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment, the garden looks terrifying and there will be a wedding here at the beginning of August…eek! I am looking for people who are happy to take responsibility for garden taming which includes a new potager. The weeds are doing very well indeed! There are various interesting areas to be cultivated into something beautiful so lots of enthusiasm and a little creativity would be most welcome.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English mainly. French ok but not yet brilliant.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A large comfortable bedroom in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are other small towns not too far away and a train station at Lannemezan which is where I mostly pick up helpers or Boulogne-sur-Gesse which is easily accessed by bus from Toulouse. Personal insurance for any medical issues is a must as healthcare can be costly in France.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours daily over 5 days.

The house at sunset
Taking Spook for a walk down the road




Host ref number: 16524315194d