Help with social media at the border of Corcovado park near Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

updated   Last minute

Favourited 528 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Want to live in a cabin in the jungle for a bit?
    We are now looking for someone who is totally independent, who wants to life alone in a jungle cabin with a small pool !
    We are around but not always there so you will be getting a list of chores to do for the 5 hour workday, which you are expected to do on your own… It is mainly general maintenance and gardening: weeding, racking, cleaning walls and painting etc. We are there to help if you need it, but want to spend some time in another house, 5 min, from there.So you will also need to keep in eye out fro the rest of the property when we are not there.
    You will be living in a small cabin, surrounded by jungle, with your own kitchen and bathroom and a small pool for you to use.*
    I provide you with the basics: rice, beans, coffee, sugar….you can do you own cooking.
    There is no internet ,but the soda next door has it and you can have a coke there and use it.
    It is a big plus if you have any knowledge of internet / wifi , antenna, router installation as I can get some signal but not enough.
    We are looking for someone to come now until mid November.

    * If the pool house is rented you will have to move to an Aframe hut, but we are in the low season so that is unlikely


    The volunteer must be very honest and open minded , responsible but fun and be able to cope on her/ his own..
    You have to be independent and don’t mind roughing it a bit as we are far from anything
    I provide the basic food ingredients like coffee, rice ,beans, ... but you have to cook your own

    You have to love nature, jungle, rivers and time on your own as there is not much else here.There are great hikes around here, lots of beautiful swimming holes in the rivers, nature at its best! Best birdwatching ever....!
    It is a great opportunity to spend some time in the Peninsula de Osa, having fun, enjoying nature while working a little bit....
    Now, if this is tempting you, or if you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

    We are also looking for someone who can do garden work, natural wood sculptures/ carvings , planting, trimming, path making ....

    Pura Vida
    Suzanna

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This a small village, it has a new park opening and is slowly growing to become a tourist destination. It used to be a gold mining town and our place was the famous ( or infamous ) gold miners bar,brothel and jail....the cabinas with private bathrooms are in,what used to be the brothel and the bathroom for the huts are in the ex jail.
    Right now Dos Brazos Del Rio Tigre it is still of the beaten track.
    It is one of the best places for birdwatching, jungle/ river walks, swimming... within an hours drive you can go surfing, kayaking, whale watching, zip lining..

    We are a twenty-minute drive from Puerto Jimenez. Puerto Jimenez is a beach town that has a hospital, grocery store, hardware store, fruit/veg shop, meat shop, restaurants, two banks, etc.
    There is a collective bus twice a day , Mon- Fri or you can hitch a ride with me when I go to town.

  • Help

    Help

    You need to be very honest and easy going,fun to be around with.You have to be able to work on your own, take responsibility , make your own meals , don’t mind living on your own, some light cleaning, racking leaves , garden work, helping fix up the place like painting walls but the main work will be the social media for my website and promoting my place.

    Right now, I have very few reservations, but end of November is filling up fast.
    In case there are guests :
    Experience in working with tourists is appreciated but not necessary as long as you can socialize and make guests feel at home.You will have to welcome guests and explain the area and our tours and just to be there for the guests,
    You need to be able to speak English and Spanish.

    If there are not many guests you can help to make any handicrafts projects; DIY lamps, decorative objects for garden and house, making fun arty things from scratch or things you find in nature.Painting/ decorating the dance and massage area... natural wood sculptures/ carvings , planting, trimming, path making ....

    We have a probationary period and we will communicate via email or WhatsApp so we should know if we can work together. When you write to us, take a little time to introduce yourself, who you are, why you would like to come.
    Once you commit we expect you to come.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a room on your own, just that sometimes you might need to change the room if it has been reserved and the guesthouse is full.
    ( not likely this year)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are living 50 m from the Dos Brazos entrance to Corcovado National Park. There are lots of trails and rivers around here.There are waterfalls and natural pools, great hikes, lots of birdwatching etc. We also have four dogs, one cat .
    We live 13km from Puerto Jimenez, so to get here you have to take a collective bus (depart 9am retour 4 pm)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    I have four dogs and a cat so if they get along with each other you can bring your pet and that should be no problem.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week





Host ref number: 162819748433