1 / 5

House sitting and cultural exchange in Puebla, Mexico

  • Favourited 194 times
  • Last activity: 21 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    My name is Valeria and I live with my family of four in the Countryside of Puebla. We have 5 lovely doggies, 42 chickens and a little piece of land that always requires something to do.

    At the moment we require some responsible/independent people who can help us with the daily activities at the house and with the doggies/chickens.

    We had some amazing experiences with workaway in the past and we are looking forward meeting new people and sharing our culture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I believe that from everyone that crosses my path in life I learn something. If you share this idea, you will definitely benefit from staying with us. We love to exchange stories, views of life as well as any other knowledge.
    Other than that you will spend a good time here with easy work, open-minded hosts and some adorable pets.

    Besides, you will try delicious mexican food and experience what real Mexico is about. I could help you with tips of things to do around the state and how to move around. We have some archeological sites, museums and a historical hacienda near us.

  • Help

    Help

    Your main task is to help my mom around the house/garden/grounds and teach her English in her free time (If you speak French or German we could also plan for some practicing sessions for me as I am just learning those languages).

    We are looking preferably for someone experienced with dogs/chickens (at least a little bit so you are not scared when the dogs bark or play, for the chickens if you have no experience we can teach you at your arrival). For the house you would be watering the plants regularly and keeping it clean. For the remaining time we may have some harvesting activities since we grow some of our food. For this I have to say we are not experienced farmers so we never do these activities for long. Some other activities you may perform are walking/ feeding the doggies, harvesting limes, helping us clean around the house.

    Preferably we are looking for very independent people who don't mind a bit of calm , since most of the time we are packed with activities on our own and the town we live on is small, so if you are very extroverted and need a lot of interaction this may not be the best place for you.

    We are usually very flexible regarding duties and schedules and I would suggest we make a weekly plan and use this as a base which can be adjusted flexibly -> Communication is Key!

    If you have any other skills that you think we could benefit from, yoga skills, photography, piano, etc. please offer them to me, I am very open minded and eager to learn!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am very interested in learning French/ German and in exchange we can practice Spanish or English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own room. We share the public areas of the house.

    Bicycles available for use, Bus stop very near the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Generally, I love to meet new people, go on adventures, telling stories....
    I also learned to enjoy the silence, whether it is alone or in company. I believe that there is nothing wrong with just cuddling yourself up with a good book or your favourite music and a hot cup of tea.

    The most important thing for a stressless "Workaway" in my opinion is communication. With honesty and respect towards each other I am sure we will have a great time together. Whatever we do, we ideally make it out of self-motivation. Therefore I harmony best with independent individuals who look around and see what they can contribute (e.g. if you see the floors are dirty, or the garbage bin is full, you take care of it)

    I describe myself as a very understanding and helpful person. So if you're having a bad day, just let me know and we can talk about it or adjust the plan. Please note that I don't enjoy making rules, I expect that everyone treats the other and his belongings the way he likes to be treated. However, after a few experiences I had to make some rules which I will tell you upon arrival or request.

    Public Transportation is quite particular here in Mexico, it's extremely cheap but is not very reliable regarding time. The bus station is in 5 mins walking distance and you can use a bicycle to explore around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 162246285325

Feedback (7)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Under the Lychee Trees! Rural pueblo away from the large touristy areas. Santa Cruz de Miramar, Nayarit, Mexico
Help us with gardening and cooking in Zipolite, Mexico