updated  

Home away from home in a large Georgian house in the outer eastern suburbs of Melbourne, Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 180 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Single guy, happily gay and semi-retired Company Director living in a large Georgian style home in the beautiful green and leafy suburb of Croydon Hills. It's just a one-hour train journey east of the CBD and is almost on the doorstep of Melbourne's picturesque Yarra Valley wine-growing area. This is at the base of the mountains and national parks and is a short distance away .

    Surrounded by green spaces and nature reserves, with many cycling and walking tracks, native animals and the freshest air in Melbourne, it's a beautiful and quiet place to relax, reflect and absorb the magic of nature.

    Permanent residents are, super cute little Buckley & a vigorous & excitable puppy, Dante

    PLEASE NOTE :
    If you send me a request, do not copy and paste, personalise your request, use my name & say something from my profile to show me that you have read it, copy and paste requests will be ignored with no reply from me!

    SORRY, SOLO TRAVELLERS ONLY ...at the moment the only bed I have available is a folding single bed located in my study, so I can only host ONE
    person!
    PLEASE…. do not send me a request unless you already have your Australian government visa approval, I CANNOT help you to get one !

    Gay & straight friendly
    PLEASE NOTE:
    Still looking for someone with carpentry skills to rescue my poor neglected pergola before it collapses, so if you have any building skills, I would welcome you and be the best host ever to give you a great Aussie/Melbourne experience.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have had heaps of experience in helping out with English practice for those who have English as their second language.
    I have had over 60 visitors from all parts of the world,so I enjoy very much listening to the stories and cultural differences between us and your home country. As much as I enjoy showing off my homeland, I also enjoy hearing their experiences, customs and stories told of their homeland!
    I have had heaps of practice in helping travellers find long-term accommodation, job assistance and generally helping them find their feet for those travellers who want a longer stay in this fabulous city of Melbourne

    We will include time to sightsee around my area if you would like, or I can provide information and suggestions on what to see. If you would prefer to do it alone, your call!
    I also provide a safe and welcoming space for those who identify as LGBTI , plus any local information you may require .
    Straight and gay-friendly!

  • Help

    Help

    Recovering very well from a few medical issues during 2021, it would be very helpful to have a little assistance with a few minor house chores that I still find a bit difficult to do on my own. I sometimes need a hand with meal preparation and grocery shopping, walking the dog and some other light duties, but this will still leave you with lots of personal time off to explore this beautiful green and leafy environment of clean, fresh air, cycling and walking tracks close to the house, as well as lakes and Aussie wildlife living in our area, exploring this beautiful international city of Melbourne.

    There is a near-new road bike and a mountain bike for you to ride, complete with lights & helmet for your use.

    I would particularly welcome someone with carpentry skills to rebuild my deteriorating pergola, with most replacement parts on-site, but no skilled workers to use them. Do you have this talent?

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    This house is very welcoming, comfortable and homely. You can feel the positive and happy vibes as soon as you enter the door.
    I am about a one-hour train ride from the city centre, with a short bus ride to the station from the bus stop, three minutes walk from my home.
    Unlimited Internet
    Netflix
    Sony PS 4 Pro
    A small quantity of PS 4 games for your enjoyment

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Happy to show you some tourist sights on your time off!
    I'm a very caring host with lots of experience hosting visitors from many different countries - ask me for references/links!
    You will be welcome to eat what I eat, so you will be well fed and cared for!
    I also have an extensive list of links I can send you on the sights and sounds of Melbourne and beyond.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Off street parking available

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 159517435958

Feedback (7)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Help in the lush rainforest hinterland close to the beautiful beaches of Byron Bay, NSW. Australia
Help on an organic family farm near Perth, Australia