Learn how to plan, build and nurture a garden, helping on our land near Coimbra, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 18 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/05/2018

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an English husband and wife who have chosen early retirement in Central Portugal. We have a large property including a self contained apartment and extensive gardens and woodland. We also have four dogs comprising of two female Great Danes of six years, a year old Boxer Cross and a Labrador puppy. Our house sits by the Rio Alva in a tiny hamlet. There are bars and restaurants within walking distance but the nearest shops are three kilometres distant so transport is a requirement. This part of Central Portugal is a friendly area full of warm and welcoming people, wonderful mountains and forests with multiple options for hiking and enjoying the great outdoors.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers to this wonderful region will benefit from being able to explore an unspoilt area and mix with local people whilst picking up some of the complex Portuguese language. The locals are very friendly and always keen to welcome new people. There wIll be opportunities to learn how to grow fresh produce and discover what will grow well in this climate and also how to plan, build and nurture a garden in what was formerly an overgrown forest area and building site and to help us continue with this project.

    There are possibilities of participating with grape or olive harvest at certain times of the year with our friends and neighbours. Although we don't currently have livestock We do have plans for the future and would welcome people with insite into owning and keeping farm animals and possibly helping with constructing appropriate pens and areas.

  • Help

    Help

    We require help strimming and clearing the forest area of our land, constructing basic gravel footpaths, painting existing walls, weeding and watering our plants and vegetables, grass cutting and general external cleaning and tidying. We also need help clearing some areas of stones so that we can form lawns and flower beds. We would like help with some window cleaning and general house maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. Very small amount of Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a two bedroom modern self-contained apartment. Modern shower room and full kitchen facilities although meals will be provided. There is full central heating and a wood burner for colder months.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our visitors will be able to visit our nearby river beach to swim or just hang out with local people and there are multiple other river beaches nearby for variety. We also have bars and restaurants close by. There are several supermarkets and many independant shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and a weekly cinema in the nearby town. There are also two outdoor and one indoor pool although we do have our own pool at home.

    We are a forty minute car journey from the historic university city of Coimbra for anyone who enjoys culture and we are also only an hour from the coast and the majestic Serra da Estrelas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 159491841656