Winter Camping Opportunity on our homestead in the Aubrac, France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 41 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Currently, we are seeking an English speaking (non-native is fine) male & female (couple or two friends - children welcome!) to join us for 15 hours a week each (food not included) from November to March (4 months). You will have a winter camping accommodation in a luxury double bell tent with wood stove & indoor toilet / private kitchen & shower with another wood stove inside - it’s very comfortable!

    We are expecting a baby around 1 December who will most likely be born at home, thus mother will be resting & parts of her role need to be accounted for.

    We need the following help: cleaning in the house including daily chores like laundry; help designing a website; help with homeschooling 10 year old (French, English) & playing with 2.5 year old. Outdoor work, tending to fires in-house & collecting wood, perhaps snow shoveling. Work will be 3 hours a day x 5 days a week.

    It’s best you have your own car. Dogs are welcome, a horse or pony, too. And if you are coming with children, yay!!!

    You must speak decent English!

    We are a French-American family of four (dad - French, mom - USA, children 9 & 2 & pregnant for the third one to arrive late autumn). We like to play games & read, we go into town sometimes, walk, hike, sight-see, play practical jokes on one another, and generally have a good time while also working hard! And, we love studying (herbs, politics, activism, alternative healing methods, etc.) and art / creative projects.

    Ariella has a background in activism in the USA - as a political, environmental and woman-centered childbirth activist. She is deeply committed to understanding the truth of each matter facing our world. Jules is the same, but his chosen topics are religion and politics. We see through the mainstream media's *narrative* and think for ourselves, backed by research. Engaging with us in conversation may be shocking or upsetting for many, yet we would enjoy socializing with our guests and feeling free to be who we are in our own home - so, if you are open to respectful disagreement or even better if you are committed to a deep understanding of the truths which our world is actually build upon (not the one you read in textbooks or syndicated info sources!) then we are a good option for you. If knowing about the truth is not your cup of tea, please pass us by! Persons of left-leaning political orientation probably won’t enjoy our company very much!

    Our 10 year old studies circus (unicycle and aerial tissue, also soon combined with horses) and she loves arts & crafts, baking, and playing with k'nex, gravitrax, etc. We do not allow video games at home, so please be prepared for that!

    All volunteer positions begin with a Skype meeting & a short trial period before a longterm agreement cannot be made.

    If you are coming with a child, we are very happy for a playmate for ours! However, please inform them in advance that we don't engage in gaming at home and expect them to put their games and apps aside - but we have plenty of outdoor activities and boardgames for them to engage with!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our project will provide a lot of opportunities to develop and hone your existing skills, and can contribute to the building of your portfolio, future work and character references, and perhaps a long lasting friendship!

    We are happy to share what we know about languages, culture, politics, health, cooking & art! Our children are fun, intelligent, creative people who most people with an open heart get a lot of joy from sharing time and space with!

    If you like understanding the deep truths of the world we are living in, we will be very exciting hosts for you!

  • Help

    Help

    Work is to assist dad with indoor & outdoor projects, also in cooperation with various skilled artisans - create tiny accommodations outdoors (cottage, yurt, etc.) & solar showers / composting toilets, clearing spaces, etc. & assist 9 year old with French grammar. Additional projects needing done are general cleaning, art & sewing, cooking, website building, gardening, etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Indoors in house, outdoors in tent or glamping accommodation (when ready).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can provide transportation to the nearest train station or bus (Espalion, Rodez, Laguiole, Saint Come d'olt, Saint Geniez d'olt)!

    There is a lot to discover in the area where we live - outdoor activities like hiking and kayaking, parasailing, swimming, markets, chateaus, wine tastings, abbeys, the pilgrim route Santiago de compostela, churches, art events, horse riding, live music, etc. It is a really nice vibe in the local villages!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 158937387459