Help on a (former) farm on Vancouver Island

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We were Workaway hosts in 2014–2016 and had a fabulous time hosting around 50 people from all over the world--we're still in touch with many of them to this day! The past few years saw the original farmer (Nikki) fall in love and move to Alberta, so we closed the farm and stopped accepting Workaway.

    Now, sadly, it's time to fully decommission the farm aspect of our property and we are looking for help knocking down outbuildings, loading refuse into bins, and reclaiming the land from the blackberries! We are on 1.6 acres about 35 minutes by bus from downtown Victoria, and walking distance to a lake, ocean, and more. We're looking for last-minute help as we are hoping to have much of this work done in January and February 2020.

    Our household is a multi-generational one made up of an older accomplished artist, a graphic designer (Dani--writing this description), her husband Toryn, a machinist, and a 19-year-old studying social justice at UVic.

    This is a good placement for one or two people--it's always nicer to be working with a buddy! We sometimes have different groups of people overlap depending on their travel schedules--lots of new friendships have been formed!

    Dani has done Workaway in Iceland and Latvia and loved it, so we have some idea of this program from the participant side and are really excited to be hosts.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Between the four of us we've lived in at least 5 countries and travelled to somewhere in the neighbourhood of 50. We love chatting about life in Canada and learning about life in other countries and have always enjoyed that aspect of Workaway! We are happy to share information about life and culture in Canada, help you explore the area, and give you ideas and support in doing so!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for general yard cleanup and deconstruction. This is a great place to have fun with a sledge hammer! We need help clearing blackberry bushes, gardening, etc--basically turning our property back into a yard from the farm cum jungle it's become since Nikki left! We expect it to be hard work but also satisfying--a lot can be accomplished in a short amount of time.

    We are close to Victoria, BC (on a bus route) and also close to walking trails and a lovely big park (Elk and Beaver Lake Park) as well as two fairly large shopping plazas and major transportation (airport and ferries). We are about 1/2 an hour away from downtown Victoria, which is an extremely cute city with lots to do and see. We are about 4 hours from skiing (or 6 from Whistler) and two from Vancouver or 3-5 from Seattle, so short trips or next stops are quite convenient.

    We enjoy walking and hiking locally and are happy to take you with us. A car might be available for use provided you have a valid license and some driving experience. We also have a sailboat and depending on timing and weather, a day trip on that might be possible as well.

    We have two dogs in the house, though they don't shed, and there are some cats in the neighbourhood (and an area peacock).

    We expect 4-5 hours per day of work per person five days a week. We provide one home cooked meal per day and access to a kitchen and fridge so you can also prepare snacks and smaller meals each day--ingredients provided unless you want something specific. While we can cater to a vegetarian diet, vegan and gluten-free travellers may find it harder to find meals to suit.

    NB: Some of the photos on our site are from back during the farm days. We don't have the animals shown anymore, but wanted to give an idea of the type of farm we used to have.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and a smattering of French, German, and Japanese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom, semi-private bedroom, shared bathroom, kitchen. We currently live in the basement suite of the house while we prepare to rent the upstairs. Depending on timing, you might be upstairs, but could also be in a separate building about 40 yards from the house. In that case, there is power but no ensuite--there's a short walk up to the house to a semi-private half bath and then access to the full shared bathroom as well.

    This is a no smoking, no drug use household. Though we do occasionally enjoy a glass of wine or beer with dinner, we are not party animals!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to see and do on Vancouver Island. We will do our best to let you know what local sights you might enjoy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours per day, five days per week - specific days off vary















Host ref number: 158366463158